Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hey guys. I have just installed redhat linux 8.0 for the first time, and am a first time linux user. The setup went fine and I have managed to create ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

help with redhat 8.0 plz. :)

Hey guys. I have just installed redhat linux 8.0 for the first time, and am a first time linux user.
    The setup went fine and I have managed to create a root accout and things seem to be working allright.
    However, I am having a couple of problems. First off, I found out that my cable modem does not work, as i am using the usb version, so i an going to get a lan card 2morro and hopefully that should work ok.

i cant play mp3 or video files either. I am using the KDE gui, and as i said before I am very new to linux so am looking to you guys out there for some help.

when i try to play an mp3 file, i get an error msg saying that the program used to run them has crashed. any ideas?

I am using a creative labs snd blaster 128 and other sounds seem to be working fine. just no mp3
    also, i have a few films on cd which are encoded with divx and xvid codecs, but cant run them. it just says that it cant find any software to play them.
    So how do i set up redhat so it will run these mp3 and video files? do i need certain packages and programs??
    does any1 know any sites where i can learn how to use redhat?
    also, where can i get the latest linux drivers for geforce 4 and snd balster 128? is there a dedicated linux driver site?
    I also own ut2003 and half life, and i play counter strike a lot. i heard it is possible to play cs even with linux, but when i put my cd in to install and double click on setup.exe it doesnt work, nothing happens.
    I would really appreciate some help.
    sorry for being such a noob but i am very interested in learning to use linux as its pretty awesome!
    thanks a lot guys!

Linux Guru