Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
:o Hi All Im just starting to pplay with linux and am wanting to install linux on my spare 20gig hard drive. I already have win2k installed on the first ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    8

    dual booting win2k and redhat 6.1 on seperate hard drives


    :o
    Hi All

    Im just starting to pplay with linux and am wanting to install linux on my spare 20gig hard drive. I already have win2k installed on the first (40gig).

    Have been reading various stuff on the web and in the forum.
    Does anyone have any tried and tested steps/advice they can give me.

    eg is it best to use GRUB etc.

    Thanks

    Capn Qweel

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    If you have a seperate hard drive (not just a seperate partition), the installation should be pretty straight forward. Just install as usual, and choose to put GRUB on the Master Boot Record (MBR) or /dev/hda.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    8

    Grub

    Thanks

    the confidence is growin already. Thanks

    where can I get GRUB from and are there any installation docs?

    Cheers

    QWeel[/quote]

  4. #4
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    GRUB is installed during the Linux installation.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Indiana, USA
    Posts
    36
    I have a dual boot system with Win2KPro (for work...) and SuSE 8.2
    They are on separate HDs, a 10G and a 20G. Like Dolda said, make sure to put your boot loader on the Master Boot Record. If you decide to install a fairly new distro, i.e. SuSE 8, RedHat 8 or 9, Slackware 9, etc. you should have little if any trouble...Being a newbie, like I, I suggest one of the more GUI friendly distros like SuSE or RedHat. They are a great start into the wonderful world of Linux


    evan hazlett

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    8
    thats great guys.

    I have red hat 6.1 and just mag copy of slackware 9.

    is slackware not as Gui friendly as the others? I do a bit of unix and from reading it says its a bit more typically better for the unix commands than the others?

    thanx fer all your help, no doubt youll be hearing from me again.

    cheers

    Will

  7. #7
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    796
    No i dont think slackware are as GUI friendly as other distributions. To use slackware it think you must have used linux before and know howto compile and build software from source. If you are a newbie i should recommend RH,Mandrake or Suse. When you have used linux a while you can change to slackware..but thats my oppinion..

    Regards

    Regards

    Andutt

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    8
    does RH6.1 have a grub option in the install that you know?

  9. #9
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    RH6.1 does not have GRUB; RH6.1 is an eon old. The latest version is 9.0.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •