Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hello I am a relatively newbie to the Postfix system...So I have some questions First, I want to leave my mail on my mail server sort of like Exchange, ( ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Setting up a Postfix mail server...

Hello I am a relatively newbie to the Postfix system...So I have some questions First, I want to leave my mail on my mail server sort of like Exchange, ( I think I need IMAP) Second, I saw where someone had a mail server but their email was stored on another server on the internet, until they downloaded it ( they were using dial up, as am I... (no DSL or cable in my area...) Any help would be much, much appreciated...

thanks,

evan hazlett

Linux Guru
    Yes, you need IMAP. Those issues aren't related to Postfix, which is mainly an MTA.
    That other thing you were referring to seems to be the purpose of fetchmail. Check it out. Still has nothing to do with Postfix, except that you can configure it to deliver the mail through postfix.

Just Joined!
    So in order to use IMAP, I will need to get Postfix configured, then install something like Courier-IMAP, as well as configure fetchmail? Is that sound right...?? Then I should be able to have IMAP with Courier and send with Postfix... Sorry I am such a newbie... Thanks...

evan hazlett

Linux Guru
    IMAP and Postfix really don't have anything with each other to do. Postfix sends, receives and forwards mails, while an IMAP server lets clients the mailbox files.
    Fetchmail and Postfix aren't really related either. Fetchmail accesses a remote post office server using IMAP or POP3, and delivers the mails found there to the local machine as if they were received by Postfix (or sendmail or qmail or any other MTA).
    Fetchmail can also be configured to deliver the mails it gets via Postfix, but I think it just uses procmail directly by default.

Just Joined!