Find the answer to your Linux question:
Good day, I have been using Linux on and off for the past 6 months, I have tried Redhat 9, which I enjoyed however decided I wanted another distro to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Which distro do you suggest I use?

Good day, I have been using Linux on and off for the past 6 months, I have tried Redhat 9, which I enjoyed however decided I wanted another distro to use which was mainstream, one that was fast, required that you have a little knowledge or you would need to learn what to do your self in order to maintain your system manually (Through configuration files, not easy to use setup). From this I come across Slackware, it was advised to me at the time, however now 10.0 has come along, and I love it, I find it nice and fast but I a beginning to see that the file structure isn't all that close to that of Fedora for example, which tends to be one of the main Distros installed on servers.

I wish to become a Linux administrator, very much into networking so I wish to manage servers, so this requires I know Linux well, a lot of distros for that matter.

So my question is:

Which distro would you recommend to someone that wants to learn well, not wanting jobs to be completed for him, wishing to do everything manually - for example not allowing a package manager to install applications, but to compile them from source (Faster anyway). One that relates to the majority of other distros such as Fedora, Redhat (Enterprise & 9.0), CentOS.

I was told Debian would be beneficial, and also FreeBSD, but with the little knowledge that I have isn't Debian a little outdated and FreeBSD is not Linux however another version of *NIX under the GNU?

Thank you for reading this

Regards

DislexiK

Re: Which distro do you suggest I use?

Quote Originally Posted by DislexiK