Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi I'm new to the forums and wanted to get everyone's opinion on which distro I should go with on my home computer. First off, let me give you a ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Red face Which distro should I go with? (somewhat of a newb)

Hi I'm new to the forums and wanted to get everyone's opinion on which distro I should go with on my home computer.

First off, let me give you a little background. I'm a student and taking a Linux class at a local community college. It's the CompTIA cert. preperation class. 16 week course and all but I've worked with Linux a little before this. I've installed different distros, worked the commands a little. I can do maybe a couple from memory. What I want to accomplish with this distro is do some homework, learn different things and impress some of my friends.

I like Ubuntu, I like SUSE and some of the others. I wanted to try a lot of 64 bit software so I really wanted to take that into consideration.

I'm looking also to really impress some of my friends with the eyecandy of it all and stuff. I also really want to try out some of the higher end Linux games out there. There's a MMORPG that caught my eye but now I can't find it online. Also there's a linux distro I've been hearing about that allows you to use a 3Dish environment and I was hoping someone could tell me briefly abou that one.

Here's my system specs, I have a higher end personal desktop.

Intel Core i7 920 CPU
    8GB DDR3 RAM 1333
    ATI Radeon HD 5870
    80GB OCZ Solid State Disk
    160GB SATA HDD
    Cooler Master HAF 322 case

Anyways, I guess what I'm hoping for is a distro that is somewhat easy to use yet is good for eye candy and can be used with 64 bit software well.
    So please pardon the obnoxiously long post and hopefully someone can point me in the right direction. Thanks in advance.

Hello and Welcome.