Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
This is not meant to start a flame war. I do not mean to imply one way or another that I know the answer to this question and that is ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

What Can Linux do that Windows can not FOR ME?

This is not meant to start a flame war. I do not mean to imply one way or another that I know the answer to this question and that is why I am asking it. Now, here is the thing, I have been using windows for about 8 years now, and I have been using linux for about 2 years on and off. So clearly my experience with to OS's is far from being on par. Currently I have Win XP and MEPIS 2004 installed on my laptop. Win XP does everything I need it to do and my Linux system is about 90% there (I am sure that in a month or two I'll have it 100% usable for my needs). So both do there job quite well. So here comes the question, what can I do in Linux that can not be done in Windows. What's the advantage? I am trying to switch to Linux now so I can learn something new, but what would be something cool that can only be done in linux? Here some limitations:

1. I am a Web Designer and a pre law student. So it should be something useful to me or someone like me.

2. Please no Free Software arguments. Any software for Win can be gotten for free. Being that I ONLY talking about personal use, I have no moral problems with it, and no legal problems that I can expect.

3. I am not interested in application programming, but if anything related to web applications and database applications is of interest to me. (I do run apache, php, perl, and MSQL on WIN XP for web testing)

4. My Win XP has not crashed in over 2 months, I put laptop in to hibernate, so it has been running all together 67 hours with out reboot at the moment of typing this. I know Linux is stable as hell, but I just do not have a problem with that.