Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello everybody i'm new to linux(ubuntu)and i love it, its exactly what i always wanted as a system. but i do miss windows/vista(1 reason only, MY GAMEZ!!) but heres the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Post [SOLVED] Need help with restoring Vista

Hello everybody

i'm new to linux(ubuntu)and i love it, its exactly what i always wanted as a system.
    but i do miss windows/vista(1 reason only, MY GAMEZ!!)

but heres the problem, my pc came with windows vista already on it + a system recovery in bios.(a seperate backup partion on the vista harddisk)
    i installed ubuntu 8.xx(don't know exactly anymore) on a old hard drive i still had(80G)
    i had a nice good working dual boot with vista and ubuntu.

but then i made a mistake in CCleaner, and the program did something that messed up my harddisk and vista now starts with the blue screen of death.
    so now i always use ubuntu(version 9.10 now ofcourse).

now i made a backup of all my important files/games, and now i want to run the system recoverythingy.
    but the bios doesnt respond to it anymore(if i press F11, recovery button, nothing happens)
    i've tried to remove the linux harddisk and then try it again but again nothing happend and somehow i still got GRUB(+errors ofcourse )

so im thinking i must do something with the GRUB?? can GRUB launch the restorething or is there something else i can do?

PLEASE HELP ME!

Greetz Hellsnake/Axel

P.S.
    Sorry if this is in the wrong forum section, im a new XD

Hi and Welcome !

Unplug Linux Hard disk and boot up from Vista installation or recovery media. Follow instructions from here to re-install Vista Boot Loader.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Just Joined!
    dude i told you, i DONT have a installation DVD.