Find the answer to your Linux question:
I'm fairly new to linux and haven't really done much with it aside from playing with knopix and ubuntu. Now, I'm trying to develop an embedded device (PC104) capable of ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Embedded Devices

I'm fairly new to linux and haven't really done much with it aside from playing with knopix and ubuntu. Now, I'm trying to develop an embedded device (PC104) capable of running a free distribution of linux. I was wondering if anyone has any experience with PC104 and can suggest a linux distribution that works with it.

And which programming language is best for developing gui applications on embedded linux? Also, would I be able to develop a C++ application that can run on different distributions of embedded linux or would I run into compatibility issues?

Thanks,

I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Is this an x86 processor, or an ARM device? In any case, there are a number of Linux distributions for these, including Debian. In fact, I have an ARM-based pc104 board and dev kit coming this week that supports Debian (2.6 kernel) as well as others that use a 2.4 kernel. You need to go to the board manufacturer's web site to see what they support in the embedded Linux department. Which distributions can run depend a lot on the amount of memory the board provides. For a modern kernel (2.6.x) you probably need 64MB for an ARM board, and 128M for an x86 board. ARM devices are propular for embedded systems due to their smaller resource requirements and significantly lower prices. Anyway, the board manufacturer I am going with is found here: Technologic Systems PC/104 Single Board Computers and Peripherals
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

Just Joined!