Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi All I am a Newbie to Linux. I have a folder LOGS under the path /d01/App1/LOGS. Since my application generates lots of log files under this LOGS directory , ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

File redirection

Hi All

I am a Newbie to Linux.
    I have a folder LOGS under the path /d01/App1/LOGS. Since my application generates lots of log files under this LOGS directory , I have been asked to move this to the different path which is in a different file system /d00/LOGS.

My application is configured in such a way that the log files will be written only under this path /d01/App1/LOGS. All I have to do is to re direct this path to /d00/LOGS.
    So when my application is trying to write a log file under this /d01/App1/LOGS path , all it has to do is not write in that path instead it has to write in /d00/LOGS path.

I tried to use symbolic soft links but could not succeed in achieving the same.

Would appreciate the help on this.

Thanks
    Rajesh.

Can this application be configured by a conf file to use another log directory or is the path hardcoded to /d01/App1/LOGS ?
    If it would be hardcoded: File a ticket for the responsible developer.

If I understand correctly, the server is already having problems, as you have been asked to move the logs. Disk space or performance issues maybe?

Two possible adhoc fixes:
    a) introduce and configure logrotate.
    The tool logrotate can make sure a logfile does not get bigger than X bytes, and keeps Y generations, optionally gzipping older files.
    It will drop logfiles, that fall out of that rotation.

b) if you do need all the logs and there is enough space on /d00/LOGS, then you could do a "bind mount" from /d00/LOGS to /d01/App1/LOGS
    Code:
    man mount
    The workflow for that quick fix would be:
    - Shut down the application
    - copy files from /d01/App1/LOGS to /d00/LOGS