Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
Hi folks, xrdp gnome ubuntu 9.10 I have xrdp installed running on the PC. Please advise how to allow remote Linux PC to connect Ubuntu 9.10? TIA Do I need ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,804

    How to allow remote RDP client to connect


    Hi folks,

    xrdp
    gnome
    ubuntu 9.10

    I have xrdp installed running on the PC. Please advise how to allow remote Linux PC to connect Ubuntu 9.10? TIA

    Do I need to install;
    libcurl4-openssl-dev
    libpam0g-dev
    vnc4server


    B.R.
    satimis

  2. #2
    Linux Guru coopstah13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    NH, USA
    Posts
    3,149

  3. #3
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,804
    Hi coopstah13,

    Thanks for your thread.

    I followed;
    Xrdp, installing
    Xrdp, installing - Ubuntuwiki.net

    to get xrdp to start. But I can't control the window size, always full screen. the flag "-g 1024x768" didn't work.
    Code:
    Warning: remote desktop changed from 840x525 to 1920x1080.
    Any advice? TIA


    B.R.
    satimis

  4. #4
    Linux Guru coopstah13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    NH, USA
    Posts
    3,149
    No clue, I much prefer NX to all other remote desktop solutions pertaining to linux.

  5. #5
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,804
    Quote Originally Posted by coopstah13 View Post
    No clue, I much prefer NX to all other remote desktop solutions pertaining to linux.
    Hi,

    Whether you meant;

    Nomachine
    NoMachine NX - Desktop Virtualization and Remote Access Management Software


    It is not on Ubuntu 9.10 repo

    $ apt-cache policy nx
    Code:
    W: Unable to locate package nx

    I need rdesktop to connect Windows. RDP is Window default package

    B.R.
    satimis

  6. #6
    Linux Guru coopstah13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    NH, USA
    Posts
    3,149
    so what you are saying is you only want to use one client to connect to both windows and linux machines?

    RDP is great, I admit, but I think it would be better to use something native to linux for connecting and dealing with it.

    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/FreeNX

  7. #7
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,804
    Quote Originally Posted by coopstah13 View Post
    so what you are saying is you only want to use one client to connect to both windows and linux machines?
    Hi coopstah13,

    That is what I'm trying to do. I made following tests

    1)
    Debian Client - to connect VM of "Sun Virtual Box" running either Linux or Windows on another PC on LAN
    It worked without problem. VM server window won't take up the entire desktop of the client. I made this test several days ago

    2)
    Debian Client - to connect Ubuntu server on another PC on LAN
    It is the test I'm doing. But Server window take up the complete Gnome desktop of the Client, also on LAN


    RDP is great, I admit, but I think it would be better to use something native to linux for connecting and dealing with it.
    I'm also interested to know other solutions in particular virtual desktop. I did it on LTSP/K12 several years back. Nowadays some software companies market this solution as thin client.

    Does the technology differs from each other?

    Thanks for your link. What will be the difference between NX and FreeNX. Thanks


    B.R.
    satimis

  8. #8
    Linux Guru coopstah13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    NH, USA
    Posts
    3,149
    there isn't any difference, freenx is GPL licensed

  9. #9
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,804
    Quote Originally Posted by coopstah13 View Post
    there isn't any difference, freenx is GPL licensed
    Ah, Thanks

    satimis

  10. #10
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,804
    Hi coopstah13,

    I forgot asking you in my last posting. Would the export window take up the entire screen of the client (local machine)?

    B.R.
    satimis

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •