Find the answer to your Linux question:
I've got a hdd that runs redhat on an LVM partition as its bootup os. I'm trying to access that redhat lvm installation with the hdd as an external USB, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Hidden LVM partition on external USB hdd

I've got a hdd that runs redhat on an LVM partition as its bootup os. I'm trying to access that redhat lvm installation with the hdd as an external USB, but I can't see the LVM partition on fdisk, so I can't get it mounted. I'm very new to Linux, so I'm hoping I'm just mssing something very obvious. Please, can anyone offer any help?

I think
    Code:
    fdisk -l
    should list everything, including partitions which are part of LVM. Also try 'lvscan', 'lvs' and 'lvdisplay' for more info on the LVM volumes.
    Stumbling around the 'net:
    www.cloudyuseful.com

Just Joined!
    Thanks for your response. I actually have tried all of these suggestions already. The result is that all commands work as expected if I'm booted into redhat on that drive. Fdisk shows two partitions, one 3.8 gigs, and the other an LVM taking up the rest of the space. However, if I have it connected as an external, I can't even get fdisk -l to show me everything. It is a 65 GB drive and fdisk only shows me a 3.8 gig partition with no files on it. Any other suggestions? I can show fdisk output if needed.

If I understand correctly you are trying to access from a different distribution (one which resides on a different disk)? I think you probably don't have the needed programs in this second distro - you probably have to install the lvm2 package. Here's a run-though on how to do this in Ubuntu.

If this doesn't help, write what distro you're using and the output of fdisk -l, hopefully we'll get somewhere
    Stumbling around the 'net:
    www.cloudyuseful.com

Just Joined!