Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 17 of 17
Heh I just finished doing most of what you said and it works! I also had to change timeout from 0 to 5. I didnt change the hidden menu option ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    66

    Heh I just finished doing most of what you said and it works! I also had to change timeout from 0 to 5. I didnt change the hidden menu option but I can see why I would want to. I didnt get around to adding Ubuntu but the important thing is I am on Debian right now.

    This was all intended to be a learning experience, and that it was. Still, is there a way I can use Debians GRUB configuration, since that is the primary distribution I use?

    Thanks for all the help.

    -Chris P

  2. #12
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Boot up Debian and execute this in Terminal
    Code:
    df -h
    su -
    /sbin/fdisk -l
    Post output here.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    66
    df -h

    Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/sda1 327M 236M 74M 77% /
    tmpfs 497M 0 497M 0% /lib/init/rw
    udev 10M 908K 9.2M 9% /dev
    tmpfs 497M 0 497M 0% /dev/shm
    /dev/sda9 92G 47G 41G 54% /home
    /dev/sda8 373M 11M 343M 3% /tmp
    /dev/sda5 4.6G 3.4G 1.1G 76% /usr
    /dev/sda6 2.8G 882M 1.8G 33% /var
    /sbin/fdisk -l

    Disk /dev/sda: 300.0 GB, 300069052416 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 36481 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x1de2020f

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 * 1 43 345366 83 Linux
    /dev/sda2 44 26607 213374636 5 Extended
    /dev/sda3 26607 26671 512000 83 Linux
    /dev/sda4 26671 36482 78803968 8e Linux LVM
    /dev/sda5 44 651 4883728+ 83 Linux
    /dev/sda6 652 1016 2931831 83 Linux
    /dev/sda7 1017 1346 2650693+ 82 Linux swap / Solaris
    /dev/sda8 1347 1395 393561 83 Linux
    /dev/sda9 1396 13553 97659103+ 83 Linux
    /dev/sda10 13554 26607 104855552 83 Linux

    Disk /dev/dm-0: 39.5 GB, 39594229760 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 4813 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x00000000

    Disk /dev/dm-0 doesn't contain a valid partition table

    Disk /dev/dm-1: 38.9 GB, 38990249984 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 4740 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x00000000

    Disk /dev/dm-1 doesn't contain a valid partition table

    Disk /dev/dm-2: 2080 MB, 2080374784 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 252 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x00000000

    Disk /dev/dm-2 doesn't contain a valid partition table

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #14
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Partition structure looks good. Does find /boot/grub/stage1 command in grub shell of Debian installation CD detect stage1?
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    66
    I couldnt figure out how to get into a grub shell on the debian CD, but if I boot normally, and enter the command line option into a grub shell and type find /boot/grub/stage1, the result is (hd0,0).

  7. #16
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Did you execute these commands in GRUB Shell to install Debian's grub?
    Code:
    grub> root (hd0,0)
    grub> setup (hd0)
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  8. #17
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    66
    To install GRUB, I always used a Linux install CD, which had some sort of a GUI. I never used a command line to install grub.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •