Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
Hi folks /dev/hda6 on / type ext3 (rw) none on /proc type proc (rw) none on /proc/bus/usb type usbfs (rw) none on /sys type sysfs (rw) /dev/hda8 on /home type ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    1,267

    Help Needed with FSTAB


    Hi folks

    /dev/hda6 on / type ext3 (rw)
    none on /proc type proc (rw)
    none on /proc/bus/usb type usbfs (rw)
    none on /sys type sysfs (rw)
    /dev/hda8 on /home type ext3 (rw)
    /dev/sda5 on /mnt/NetDisk_Storage type vfat (rw)
    /dev/hda1 on /mnt/win_c type ntfs (ro,umask=0,nls=iso8859-1)
    /dev/hda5 on /mnt/win_d type ntfs (ro,umask=0,nls=iso8859-1)
    /dev/hdb on /mnt/cdrom type iso9660 (ro,noexec,nosuid,nodev,users,umask=0,iocharset=is o8859-1,codepage=850,user=ugo)
    /dev/hdc on /mnt/cdrom2 type iso9660 (ro,noexec,nosuid,nodev,users,umask=0,iocharset=is o8859-1,codepage=850,user=ugo)



    heres my setup

    1 hd partitioned in 3
    C, D, E
    C is Windows XP's partition.
    D is Windows Swap Partition
    E is partitioned in 3 for Mandrake

    2 cd rom
    1 52x CDRom
    1 CD-BURNER

    1 USB2 KEY
    1 USB2 External HD partitioned in 2

    NETDISK part 1
    NETDISK_STORAGE part 2

    Im having a VERY hard time getting into those directory to work
    they seems mounted when I get into /mnt
    anyway...
    ask if you need any more info...
    I'll be glad to help you solve my Issue :P
    \"Meditative mind\'s is like a vast ocean... whatever strikes the surface, the bottom stays calm\" - Dalai Lama
    \"Competition ultimatly comes down to one thing... a loser and a winner.\" - Ugo Deschamps

  2. #2
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    can you clarify a little bit?

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    1,267
    I have a Hard Disc (sda1) [/mnt/NetDisk] //USB2 external HD Partition 1
    Thats an Icon on the desktop
    DClick on it, I get wrong fs type error message

    if I go throu Terminal I can see the mounted drive....
    even create directory in it..
    with User and SU


    I have another patition on that disk
    NetDisk_Storage
    I cannot change the rights on it but i can see it properly
    Cannot access with User but I can with SU

    now...
    I'dd like to know why I cannot access throu the GUI fs error
    why can't I chance access to NetDisk_Storage
    and finally how can I slove this problem
    \"Meditative mind\'s is like a vast ocean... whatever strikes the surface, the bottom stays calm\" - Dalai Lama
    \"Competition ultimatly comes down to one thing... a loser and a winner.\" - Ugo Deschamps

  4. #4
    Linux User sheds's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    ??????????
    Posts
    342
    Ntfs file systems must use this kind of definition in your etc/fstab file
    Code:
    /dev/hdc1 /mnt/win_c ntfs iocharset=iso8859-1,rw,umask=0 0 0
    Fat file systems should use another definition, like so:
    Code:
    /dev/sda1 /mnt/win_c2 vfat iocharset=iso8859-1,codepage=850,rw,umask=0 0 0

  5. #5
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    254
    Quote Originally Posted by UgoDeschamps
    now...
    I'dd like to know why I cannot access throu the GUI fs error
    why can't I chance access to NetDisk_Storage
    and finally how can I slove this problem
    If I understood correctly the question it might be coz u're logged in like a user (u never log in in root uh?) and as u said it u can see the contents of ur partition in root not in a simple user mode
    Could u change the rights on it and retry again?

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer Giro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,219
    Also add user,noauto to your fstab and mount the drives as the user you are logged in as then you should be have the correct permissions.

  7. #7
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    1,267
    ---------------------------------------------------------------
    Ntfs file systems must use this kind of definition in your etc/fstab file
    Code:
    /dev/hdc1 /mnt/win_c ntfs iocharset=iso8859-1,rw,umask=0 0 0

    Fat file systems should use another definition, like so:
    Code:
    /dev/sda1 /mnt/win_c2 vfat iocharset=iso8859-1,codepage=850,rw,umask=0 0 0[/quote]

    Worked like a charm averything is good
    thanks a lot
    ---------------------------------------------------------------
    GNUX
    as was loged in as user. but if I tryed to modify RW access throu terminal, loged as ROOT, i couldnt change the right
    ---------------------------------------------------------------
    GIRO
    thanks for your help too..
    ---------------------------------------------------------------
    Thanks again for all your help
    just made me smarter[/code]
    \"Meditative mind\'s is like a vast ocean... whatever strikes the surface, the bottom stays calm\" - Dalai Lama
    \"Competition ultimatly comes down to one thing... a loser and a winner.\" - Ugo Deschamps

  8. #8
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    1,267
    Hi again...
    im having a real hard time with getting my thing to work.,..

    sometimes it works sometimes it doesnt...

    now my 2 windows partition arent "mounted" and if I try to mount them I get the FS error...
    I've tryed using the "control panel" and it gives me an error with MTAB.... now I look in this file, and the HD1, HD5 in fstab
    /dev/hda1 /mnt/win_c ntfs isocharset=iso8859-1,rw,umask=0 0 0
    /dev/hda5 /mnt/win_d ntfs isocharset=iso8859-1,rw,umask=0 0 0

    are not in mtab...
    now...
    I installed the TOTEM package.. thats all I did since that error


    Is there anyone in here.. with enough knowledge to explain me exactly HOW the mounting works... I'm getting pissed at my ignorance... but I can't seem to know anyone that has the knowledge to teach me... even if its a book you recommend, I used windows for the past 10 years and I can do whatever I want with it... I just want to be able to do the same...


    thanks in advance all :wink:
    \"Meditative mind\'s is like a vast ocean... whatever strikes the surface, the bottom stays calm\" - Dalai Lama
    \"Competition ultimatly comes down to one thing... a loser and a winner.\" - Ugo Deschamps

  9. #9
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    256
    If you want to know how it works, you're going to have to do some reading, check out
    Code:
    $ man mount
    $ man fstab
    $ man umount
    Once you have your /etc/fstab entries set up correctly, you can do
    Code:
    $ mount /mnt/win
    and windows will be mounted with all your fstab options.
    --monkey

  10. #10
    Linux User sheds's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    ??????????
    Posts
    342
    Quote Originally Posted by monkey8
    If you want to know how it works, you're going to have to do some reading, check out
    Code:
    $ man mount
    $ man fstab
    $ man umount
    Once you have your /etc/fstab entries set up correctly, you can do
    Code:
    $ mount /mnt/win
    and windows will be mounted with all your fstab options.
    So, basically, all you have to do to mount drives is to add them to the fstab file, and then run mount command so they get loaded up. Is this correct?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •