Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi All, I have encountered a very serious and unthinkable proble with Linux... i had rebooted my server as always on the weenkend. and it wouldn't boot up.. Says that ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    ash
    Just Joined!

HELP WITH FSTAB

Hi All,
    I have encountered a very serious and unthinkable proble with Linux... i had rebooted my server as always on the weenkend. and it wouldn't boot up..

Says that /etc/fstab has problems .. and gets into the maintenance mode where i can go in and see that /etc/fstab is actually 0 bytes. there is no information on the partitions that i had in the disk and wouldn't mount anything...

i am lost here, i am not an expert and can't write my own fstab... it might be relatively easy for some but i am not at all that level..

Could some one send some information how to get my self back into normal booting process (whcih i feels is not that simple as linux cannot even determine which is the root partition)

i am running this server as my site also and had arnd 900 MB of data which is crucial and there is no backup (except for a backup on the same Server).

any comments or help will be appreciated

Thanks

Linux Guru
    Well, you must of course know what partition is used for what. After that, writing an fstab isn't hard at all, I promise you. Even my grandmother could do it. Don't worry, though; the data on the actual other partitions won't be lost.
    It's a better question why your fstab was truncated in the first hand. Why are you rebooting this server at all, and how do you accomplish that?

ash
    Just Joined!
    well this server has an XP partition also and mostly on weekends i logon to this Xp and download some songs to make the CDs... nothing very out of ordinary that i am doing on this box..

as for the name of the partions.. i am almost certain that i know all./. does it make a difference in the sequence of the partitions ??

Thanks