Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
So, i HAD a really nice monitor. It died today. (Moment of silence) now my problem is this: i was running at a really high resolution, which none of my ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Baltimore, MD
    Posts
    26

    Red hat and a toasted monitor.


    So, i HAD a really nice monitor. It died today. (Moment of silence) now my problem is this: i was running at a really high resolution, which none of my other monitors can match. So, when i hook up one of my other monitors, it doesnt work cuz the set resolution is out of the monitors range. I cant lower the resolution, at the monitor wont display the OS.
    I could change the resolution from the command line, i guess (if i can remember how,) but i have no idea how to get redhat to boot to the command line. It has always defaulted to KDE despite my repeated attempts to make it boot to the command line.

    Thanks for your help,
    -Jordan

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Have you tried pressing Ctrl+Alt+F1 to get a text mode console?

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Baltimore, MD
    Posts
    26

    when?

    press Ctrl+Alt+F1 at what point in the bootup?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Baltimore, MD
    Posts
    26

    nevermind

    nevermind that previous question, i figured it out.
    now how do i set the resolution lower for my GUI?

    thanks
    -Jordan

  6. #5
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Choose a text editor, edit /etc/X11/XF86Config and find the line beginning with "Modes" in a "Display" subsection. There you can specify what modes to use.

  7. #6
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    766
    when ur GUI loads up press ctrl+alt+kp_plus or ctrl+alt+kp_minus

    res goes up... res goes down....

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Baltimore, MD
    Posts
    26

    cool

    cool, thanks all

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •