Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
I still have the same problem when trying to configure my local printer. In yast, when I try test print, it says: "cups(File)DoRequest error: client-error-not-authorized". In prompt mode yast asks ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    50

    cups problems, password neede, no localhost:631


    I still have the same problem when trying to configure my local printer.

    In yast, when I try test print, it says: "cups(File)DoRequest error: client-error-not-authorized".
    In prompt mode yast asks for password but neither root nor user are correct?
    I tried lppasswd. Doesn change much, unfortunatelly.
    When I try to add printer in KDEprint it first says that request is too long and then during the test printing following message apears:

    cupsdoprint -P 'Can' -J 'KDE Print Test' -H 'localhost:631' -U 'root' -o ' multiple-document-handling=separate-documents-uncollated-copies orientation-requested=3' '/opt/kde3/share/apps/kdeprint/testprint.ps' : execution failed with message:
    client-error-request-value-too-long
    ---------------------------------------

    Perhaps the followning is more important:
    Wneh I try to set up printer in yast prompt mode, when saving the new configuration it says
    "root password for localhost needed"

    I can not also access htpp://localhost:631/ becouse of some access problems.

    May someone give directions.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru loft306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    The DairyLand
    Posts
    1,666
    well the proper passwd to use with the cups gui at 127.0.0.1:631 (localhost:631) is
    user: root
    and
    password: root passwd
    ~Mike ~~~ Forum Rules
    Testing? What's that? If it compiles, it is good, if it boots up, it is perfect. ~ Linus Torvalds
    http://loft306.org

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Farnborough, UK
    Posts
    1,305
    Basically, Suse has encrypted the root password for CUPS for security reasons.

    You can find the link on Suse site or I think it's been posted here a while back.

    *edit* just noticed your lppassword.

    Did you do

    lppasswd -g sys -a root

    ??
    Lansbury's Lido

    thekiadriver on #linuxforums - fleetingly

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    50

    results

    I tried 127.0.0.1:631 but the message is "Could not connect to remote server"
    I also tried lppasswd with that parameters. No change.

    Helpl

  5. #5
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Farnborough, UK
    Posts
    1,305
    pksa, sounds like cups isnīt running.

    type

    ps aux and see if the cupsd daemon is running.

    If not start it from the Yast control centre or type cupsd.
    Lansbury's Lido

    thekiadriver on #linuxforums - fleetingly

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •