Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Folks a thought just occured to me, and I'm almost completely new to Linux. Would it be possible for someone to take KDE or Gnome or some other X Windows ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    35

    Is there a way/project underway to make KDE work with XP?


    Folks a thought just occured to me, and I'm almost completely new to Linux. Would it be possible for someone to take KDE or Gnome or some other X Windows Desktop Manager and convert it to work as the default shell in XP? I know there are a couple of Blackbox and Fluxbox clones out there, but that's not the same...

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    A world without walls or fences...
    Posts
    47
    I'm pretty new to Linux myself, but I don't think that there's a way to do that... maybe you could run an emulator or something, but that would take a bloody awful lot of resources, having Windows and GNOME/KDE. *shudders*

  3. #3
    Linux Enthusiast Opnosforatou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Vleuten, The Netherlands
    Posts
    552

    Re: Is there a way/project underway to make KDE work with XP

    I don't think Microosft will ever allow a 3rd party userinterface to run on their ' sweet' XP.
    As this woulld replace the core of Internet Explorer.
    Slim change this will ever happen.
    As far to me, XP has only one value; gaming. nothing more.
    It's the only reason I keep a 40GB partition alive with XP on it.
    ---[ MS09-99896 - Vulnerability in All MS Windows OS ; Using Windows Could Allow Remote Code Execution. ]---
    Hardware: Asus P4P800, 1GB, P4-3Ghz, Asus V9950, Maxtor ATA HD\'s, 3Com GBit lan, Audigy ZS Plat.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    35
    ... but what about Litestep and all of the other alternative shells for Windows, Microsoft hasn't stopped them. Wouldn't it be possible to make a KDE or Gnome clone for Windows?

  6. #5
    Linux Guru Vergil83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2,407
    i don't know for sure, but litestep appears just to be a window manager while GNOME and KDE are full desktop environments. That is why there are *box clones out there. The *boxes are just wm not de.

    just my thoughts

  7. #6
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    /dev/random
    Posts
    404
    I think Cygwin has a port of KDE for windows.
    Check out Cygwin's site : http://www.cygwin.com
    More precisely, http://x.cygwin.com
    The Unforgiven
    Registered Linux User #358564

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •