Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi all this is my first time posting on Linux forums and its nice to be here. I'm currently working on a project that has seen me developing a modified ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Convert modified OS in Vm to bootable physical media

Hi all this is my first time posting on Linux forums and its nice to be here.

I'm currently working on a project that has seen me developing a modified ubuntu server 10.04.03 distro inside a VMWare Fusion 3.1.3 virtual machine. I'm now ready to test this on a live device. This means taking the OS in the virtual machine and putting it on a couple of physical hard drives so that when the devices are switched on they can boot up into the OS I've developed.

Now as I'm expecting to still use the vm version for tweaks and bug fixes during testing I'm looking at this stage for a quick way of copying only the OS from the vm to the physical media, rather than creating a bootable image and having to (at this stage) deal with squashes etc.

I'm just wondering if anyone has any suggestions that could help me achieve this. I have tried initially to create a clone using clonezilla but found issues with it using it within a vm.

I've also looked into using the unix 'dd' command but this is undesirable due to issues regarding partioning and disk geometry. Ideally I'm looking really for some pointers, tips or techniques to help me achieve this.

Thanks

Linux Enthusiast
    look at the commands "cpio" and "rsync". The "cpio" command is a very old command and it has the advantage that it handles the "/dev/" directory correctly. Also you should not copy the stuff inside "/proc" and "/sys" as they are populated at boot and copying them leaves bad data in them that just takes up space (not sure if they cause any side effects as I avoid coping them.)

Just Joined!
    Hi lipwig79,