So I've been doing a lot of research into raid and filesystems lately; mostly ZFS and BTRFS. I have been using the Kernel's software MD Raid for several years now, but I never really understood it much. I would like to think that after spending the last month or so doing some in depth research and testing, that I understand a little better.

################################################## #####
Data Scrubbing.

Lets say you have a raid 1 (mirror). If you read a file, and the copy on hard drive 1 is borked, your system will read it off of disk 2, and attempt to fix drive 1's copy. If it can't, your disk is marked faulty, and kicked from the raid group. You then hotswap your drive, put it into the raid array, and rebuild it based on the files on disk 2.

What isn't accounted for, is passive bit rot. Every so often, you will lost bits off your drive due to various reasons, that could be how HD1 in the above example went bad; not a full on hardware failure, just some bad sectors. Lets say for a moment though that you have a file that you haven't accessed in years (2007's tax return?) That file hasn't been read, so it hasn't been checked. Returning to the above, you lose HD1, replaced it, and a rebuild is in progress. It then gets to the section of disk with your old file in it, and it has bit rot that went undetected. BOOM, you just lost that file, and your build process is probably going to get jacked up, possibly causing more data loss.

I don't know about other people, but I had assumed that your drives were read periodically to make sure everything was peachy keen. I'm by no means a Linux noob either, I passed the RHCE certification exam with a perfect score on my first try, and nowhere had I learned about data scrubbing until after I had a real problem I had to deal with. No amount of synthetic lab work for school, or controlled tests in the home can prepare you for real world failure.