Find the answer to your Linux question:
Ok so I just updated to Ubuntu 11.10, pretty much straight from 10.10, and I don't like what I see. Running linux for me is now SLOWER than running windows! ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Switching from Ubuntu to ?

Ok so I just updated to Ubuntu 11.10, pretty much straight from 10.10, and I don't like what I see. Running linux for me is now SLOWER than running windows! On top of that, though it is handy having window options in the top bar, unity for me just seems too mac-ish and gnome shell is even worse. After that I did a bit of research and decided I wasn't comfortable with Ubuntu's philosophy, and am thinking of switching to a more orthodox, faster and lighter distribution.

I admit, I am a novice in a way and know very little about what happens under the bonnet, but don't take that to mean I need some fancy GUI for everything, I am quite capable of an apt-get from time to time if needs be.

So far I've been looking towards Debian, because of the philosophy and simplicity, and Mint (in particular the Debian edition) because I'm not sure whether I'm cut out for full-blown Debian. But I'm open to any suggestions.

As for the desktop environment I want to steer away from gnome shell, I was thinking gnome 2 or xfce.

Any comments would be more than welcome!

Just Joined!
    You can always install xfce or gnome2 on your current ubuntu right? or are they not in repos? Or kde? i dont even know how it looks nowadays :P
    Mint is good choice and they started something called cinnamon which is gnome shell fork that aims to look like gnome 2 and have as many configurable options

Btw after using gnome shell for longer then a year i must say i'm used to it by now. Using few extensions (not official ofc) made it work pretty well.

oz
    forum.guy
    Quote Originally Posted by ColourblindKid View Post