Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
I taught myself how to use the mount command via the man pages, but I have to use sudo to do so. (My user acount obviously doesn't have access.) I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Eastern U.S
    Posts
    23

    'sudo mount filesystem' without denying user acount access?


    I taught myself how to use the mount command via the man pages, but I have to use sudo to do so. (My user acount obviously doesn't have access.)

    I mounted my ntfs filesystem to /home/*username*/data using sudo, but it's denying my user acount access to that folder, which it previously did have access too, with the mounted filesystem.

    How can I mount the filesystem without denying my user acount access to it? Or at least, how can I give my user acount access to it? Thank you.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    Check youe /etc/fstab you might need to add 'user' to the line about the partition;

    If you want you can post the fstab here;

    Merry Christams;

    dylunio
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    1,267
    This will give you rw access to this specific drive.
    Note that you cannot Write to an NTFS drive since ntfs write isnt supported yet. (still experimental)
    /dev/hda1 /mnt/win_main <filesystem> rw,umask=0 0 0
    \"Meditative mind\'s is like a vast ocean... whatever strikes the surface, the bottom stays calm\" - Dalai Lama
    \"Competition ultimatly comes down to one thing... a loser and a winner.\" - Ugo Deschamps

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Eastern U.S
    Posts
    23
    Thanks. I have another question though. I pecked in 'sudo vim /etc/fstab' and it still told me it was read only, and /dev/hda1 wasn't listed at all? Why?

    And thanks again for the help.

  5. #5
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    1,267
    well for hd1 not been in there simply meens it doest mount it a boot... fairly self explanatory :P

    As for the read only, I rarely use sudo.... I usually change permission and then reput the old permission... saves me headache
    \"Meditative mind\'s is like a vast ocean... whatever strikes the surface, the bottom stays calm\" - Dalai Lama
    \"Competition ultimatly comes down to one thing... a loser and a winner.\" - Ugo Deschamps

  6. #6
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    I'm not sure what dev the partition is you are trying to mount, if it is /dev/hda1 just add it to /eyc/fstab like Ugo said but changing rw to ro since I do not recomend writing to ntfs, if it isn't /dev/hda1 just add whatever dev/hda* it is to the fstab.

    You might have to mount it with:
    Code:
    mount -t ntfs /dev/hda1 /home/*username*/data
    dylunio
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Eastern U.S
    Posts
    23
    Thankya. I can't wait to get home and test it out.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •