Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am relatively new to Linux but seriously considering replacing my motherboard and upgrading the hdd to 2TB. However don't know what I should consider when comparing the various motherboards ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

replacing the motheboard

I am relatively new to Linux but seriously considering replacing my motherboard and upgrading the hdd to 2TB.

However don't know what I should consider when comparing the various motherboards available.

Therefore can someone make a suggestion about what aspects of the board to look at, please.

I do not require a motherboard which will handle the latest games. Probably the most I will require is to watch the free to air television.

At the moment I am running Gentoo.

Will a new motherboard require a reintsall ? And what effect will Secure boot have?

All advice gretly appreciated. Hope this is in the right place.

Linux User
    Around here old desktop PCs are so cheap and common these days that I haven't done a mobo replacement in 10 years. I take the peripherals out and ditch them at the recyclers when they give me problems. Then I go talk to Joe and get another old one for $50 that works, XP included.

I think the cheapest I can even get a decent mobo for is about $100, and the open-heart surgery involved is a finicky pain in the neck. Everything needs to line up just perfectly. You're likely to break something else in the process, and making sure the RAM chips are the same type and swappable is a gamble, otherwise youre out a bunch more money.

And yeah, I'd do a fresh install if I did that.

oz
    forum.guy
    Hello

Do some research to make sure any device chips on the perspective new motherboard (controllers, video, networking, etc) are currently supported by Linux, or that drivers will be included in a new kernel soon. For dealing with potential Secure Boot issues, see the following page: