Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
OK, so I'm still new to gentoo, and normally I would find this out myself, without anyone helping me, but I just want to get the core components of the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Linux Guru

How to pass configuration options to ebuilds

OK, so I'm still new to gentoo, and normally I would find this out myself, without anyone helping me, but I just want to get the core components of the system built, and then start exploring it.
    So, my question is: How do you specify options to configure when emerging a package? Also, can you make emerge just run ./configure --help and then exit in order to find out what options are available for you?

Linux Engineer
    Learn how to use the USE variable which is set in the make.conf file. It basicly tells what libs to compile into the source during the emerge. If there is another specific option you want to add which is not in the ebuild, you can just edit the ebuild to add it.
    emerge -vp <package> will show you USE flags for the package.

Linux Guru
    Yeah, I knew about the USE flag, which is really useful (I didn't know about emerge -vp, though; thanks for that, I've been using grep IUSE on the ebuild file this far...).
    Although, the USE flag doesn't do everything. For example, when I emerged lirc, I had to go through a whole lot of trouble (OK, it wasn't that much, but far more than I imagine than it should be), to find out how to pass to configure what driver it should be using and which settings to use for that driver. I don't think you can do that with the USE var, or am I wrong?
    And later when I will emerge eg. mplayer, will I be able to use the USE var to specify what internal features that I want to enable? The USE flag only specifies external dependencies, right?

Linux Engineer