Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
Hi all, Host Ubuntu 12.04 desktop VirtualBox Firefox and Google Chrome are running on the host. I'm subscribing hosting on Godaddy. Some pages of Godaddy website can't be displayed correctly ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,778

    About firefox and google chrome


    Hi all,

    Host Ubuntu 12.04 desktop
    VirtualBox

    Firefox and Google Chrome are running on the host. I'm subscribing hosting on Godaddy. Some pages of Godaddy website can't be displayed correctly on Firebox neither on Chrome, some items missing. However those pages are being displayed correctly on MS Internet Explorer and the Web Browser on Debian, the missing items displayed. Please advise are there ways to fix the problem. TIA

    B.R.
    satimis

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Are you using extensions like NoScript, AdBlocks in both browsers? Have you tried to disable extensions?

    sent using Tapatalk.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,778
    Quote Originally Posted by devils casper View Post
    Are you using extensions like NoScript, AdBlocks in both browsers? Have you tried to disable extensions?
    No.

    Extensions - please see attached file;
    Screenshot_google_ext.png

    Thanks

    satimis
    Attached Images Attached Images

  4. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Check Godaddy support page. Google Voice and other extensions created problems in the past. Try disabling Google Voice first.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  5. #5
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,778
    Quote Originally Posted by devils casper View Post
    Check Godaddy support page. Google Voice and other extensions created problems in the past. Try disabling Google Voice first.
    Hi,

    Thanks

    Having tried your suggestion. No hope

    The DNS Control Board page of Godaddy doesn't display correctly on Firefox and Google Chrome. Folks there also suffered similar problem without solution. However one folk there told that Chrome without extension running on MacBook worked fine.

    I'm subscribing Deluxe Linux hosting plan. To buy a MacBook to do the job? Running Web browser on Debian or MS Internet Explorer on MSWindows to work on Godaddy? This is NOT the first time for me encounting problem on Godaddy website. I have been suffering similar problem, Godaddy website not displaying correctly on Firefox, for more than 2 months.

    Has any folk here tried Hostgator
    Web Hosting Services, Reseller Hosting, VPS Hosting, and Dedicated Servers by HostGator
    ?

    Do their website have problem on major browsers, Firefox/Chrome etc? Thanks

    B.R.
    satimis

  6. #6
    Penguin of trust elija's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Either at home or at work or down the pub
    Posts
    3,485
    I've used hostgator for years. No problems this end and I have to say that their support is legendary especially when you consider their prices!
    What do we want?
    Time machines!

    When do we want 'em?
    Doesn't really matter does it!?


    Conkybots: Interactive plugins for your Conkys!

  7. #7
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,778
    Quote Originally Posted by elija View Post
    I've used hostgator for years. No problems this end and I have to say that their support is legendary especially when you consider their prices!
    Hi,

    Thanks for your advice.

    A further question on multiple domains, say

    domain1.com
    domain2.com
    domain3.com

    Godaddy hosting:-

    On browser to visit domain1.com I have to run;
    domain1.com/worpress1/

    for domain2.com
    domain2.com/wordpress2/

    for domain3.com
    domain3.com/wordpress3/

    leaving out /wordpress1 /wordpress2 and /wordpress3 they can't work.

    Would this happens on Hostgator? Thanks

    B.R.
    satimis

  8. #8
    Penguin of trust elija's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Either at home or at work or down the pub
    Posts
    3,485
    It would depend on how you set them up. If you install Wordpress to a sub folder then then you would need to either put a redirect in or navigate to the sub folder. Alternatively you could just install Wordpress in to the web root.
    What do we want?
    Time machines!

    When do we want 'em?
    Doesn't really matter does it!?


    Conkybots: Interactive plugins for your Conkys!

  9. #9
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,778
    Quote Originally Posted by elija View Post
    It would depend on how you set them up. If you install Wordpress to a sub folder then then you would need to either put a redirect in or navigate to the sub folder. Alternatively you could just install Wordpress in to the web root.
    Pls explain in more detail. Thanks

    Godaddy require installing a copy of WordPress on each domains to their WP folders.

    say,
    /aaa.com/wp-aaa-folder
    /bbb.com/wp-bbb-folder
    /ccc.com/wp-ccc-folder

    However on browsing website I have to run;

    Code:
    http://www.aaa.com/wp-aaa-folder
    http://www.bbb.com/wp-bbb-folder
    http://www.ccc.com/wp-ccc-folder
    respectively.

    running;
    Code:
    http://www.aaa.com
    http://www.bbb.com
    http://www.ccc.com
    don't work

    I have sent dozens of emails to their Support Team for assistance without a result.

    Hostgator offers unlimited domain hosting on "Baby Plan"

    Unlimited Web Hosting
    Web Hosting - Shared cPanel Web Hosting

    Application Hosting...
    - WordPress Hosting - Host your very own WordPress blog
    - Joomla Hosting & Drupal Hosting - Professional CMS Solutions
    - Magento Hosting - Free E-commerce platform for your own store
    - Wiki Hosting - Start a Wiki web site with MediaWiki

    Would the problem mentioned above happen?

    OR any other suggestions? TIA

    B.R.
    satimis

  10. #10
    Penguin of trust elija's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Either at home or at work or down the pub
    Posts
    3,485
    If you have the ability to use a .htaccess file with Go Daddy then this may work for you.

    Code:
    RewriteEngine on
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^aaa\.com$
    RewriteRule (.*) http://www.aaa.com/$1 [R=301,L]
    RewriteRule ^$ wp-aaa-folder [L]
    My site which is word press and hosted with Host Gator. which should answer your question
    What do we want?
    Time machines!

    When do we want 'em?
    Doesn't really matter does it!?


    Conkybots: Interactive plugins for your Conkys!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •