Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Hello, what would run smoothly on a mini client PC CPU: 533 MHz RAM: 128 MB Main use would be only for "surfing the web" and eventually running an Apache ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    6

    Good distro for low-spec Client Motherboard?


    Hello,

    what would run smoothly on a mini client PC

    CPU: 533 MHz
    RAM: 128 MB

    Main use would be only for "surfing the web" and eventually running an Apache Server for experimental purposes. (not simultaneously of course)

    Tried the "Damn Small linux" already.

    But the apt-get function doesnīt work there as I would like to get a distro with fully functional package manager, to be able to install ... for example the apache or firefox. etc.

    thx

  2. #2
    Trusted Penguin
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4,353
    Quote Originally Posted by georg91 View Post
    Tried the "Damn Small linux" already.

    But the apt-get function doesnīt work there as I would like to get a distro with fully functional package manager, to be able to install ... for example the apache or firefox. etc.
    is apt-get getting out to the internet okay? if so, is Apache listed under "httpd", by chance? e.g.:

    Code:
    apt-get install httpd
    Antix, Puppy and SliTaz are also popular light-weight distros. here is good list.

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer MASONTX's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Mason Texas
    Posts
    934
    For those specs, I'ld try SliTaz, but more ram would really help.
    Registered Linux user #526930

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    6
    @masontx

    Yes, SliTaz was one I have tried already but it boots only in Textmode.
    If I enter Openbox (which seems to be the desktop) following message appears.

    failed to open the display

  5. #5
    Trusted Penguin
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4,353
    Quote Originally Posted by georg91 View Post
    If I enter Openbox (which seems to be the desktop) following message appears.

    failed to open the display
    that is usually b/c the GUI program (openbox) requires an X server to be running. the GUI app should then attach to that X server. so, have you tried starting X yet? e.g.:

    Code:
    startx

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    6
    No, will try this tomorrow. thanks

  7. #7
    Linux User zenwalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Inland Empire
    Posts
    291
    antiX-12-base-486.iso
    antiX-Linux - Browse /Final at SourceForge.net

    make a swap file to add to system in lieu of RAM
    Linux Add a Swap File ? Howto

    Edit: or even install Core, if desired; antiX comes with no DE, only WM; it works on just about anything, IME.

    Best wishes!
    "What you think about me is none of my business"
    _______________________________________________
    antiX | SolydX | Puppy Slacko

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •