Find the answer to your Linux question:
I have limited Linux knowledge, and only on a single computer. I was wondering: In a business setting, people log onto their machine from any location within the building (as ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Information

I have limited Linux knowledge, and only on a single computer. I was wondering: In a business setting, people log onto their machine from any location within the building (as an example) which is verified through the windows server. Is it basically the same for a Linux environment? If I was to set up a classroom with a dedicated Linux server, could students log onto their local machine anywhere in the room and still be able to get on?? If so is there a free Linux Server distribution that I can download?? Hope this makes sense and thanks in advance!

Trusted Penguin
    hello and welcome, Spufi!

Yes, Linux can function as an authentication server. It can even do so as a Domain Controller (a la Windows). You could also do it using a combination of OpenLDAP or NIS to perform authentication, and NFS to share out the user home directories stored on the auth server.

The Linux Terminal Server Project is another approach.
    Last edited by atreyu; 06-07-2013 at 01:21 AM. Reason: removed duplicate info

Just Joined!
    Back in the mid 90s, I used to teach a basic Unix System Administration class. The two things that were the best were NIS and NFS.
    NIS is also known as YP (yellow pages). The point is that you can create an NIS server which is a lot like a domain controller. Essentially, it takes copies of the various files in /etc (like passwd/shadow, hosts, ethers, bootparams, etc.) and converts them to a database format then offers to serve them up via a daemon called ypserv