Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
I am running Mageia 2 and my wastebin is not working. On inspection it has been changed into a text file with 0 bytes content. How can I restore or ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Sheffield, England
    Posts
    45

    Waste bin not working


    I am running Mageia 2 and my wastebin is not working. On inspection it has been changed into a text file with 0 bytes content. How can I restore or re-install the file trash.desktop? Help would be appreciated, thanks.

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    6
    Did the folder somehow loose it's executable features? Would this help?:

    chmod -Rv o=rwx FOLDER_NAME

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Sheffield, England
    Posts
    45
    Sorry, that did not work but thanks for trying.

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    6
    Crap. Sorry man. After a good night's sleep and a couple cups of coffee I realize that it's a GUI type file. If it's not a broken symlink then maybe you could 'cat' the file as root. If everything looks right then maybe the permissions to the file are messed up. What is the full path of the file anyway?

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Sheffield, England
    Posts
    45
    /home/user/Desktop/trash.desktop

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    6
    ls -sail /home/user/Desktop/trash.desktop

    cat /home/user/Desktop/trash.desktop

    #Copy and paste both results.

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Sheffield, England
    Posts
    45
    After ls the prompt gave 917540 0 -rwxr--rwx 1 user 0 Sep 28 22.27. After the cat command it just returned to the prompt.

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    6
    If your desktop environment is kde4 then you might find a file in /usr/share/applications/kde4 or /usr/share/kde4 that you could copy and paste to your desktop that would solve the problem.

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Sheffield, England
    Posts
    45
    Quote Originally Posted by graeyhat View Post
    If your desktop environment is kde4 then you might find a file in /usr/share/applications/kde4 or /usr/share/kde4 that you could copy and paste to your desktop that would solve the problem.
    OK, it is KDE4 so will give that a go and will advise if all works out. Thanks so much.

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Sheffield, England
    Posts
    45
    Sorry, no file is there. This feels like a removal of any associated file and a re-install of the wastebin if I knew how to do that.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •