Find the answer to your Linux question:
I'd like to get some advice on this because it seems like a daunting task. I'm a relative newbie when it comes to Linux, but I've been reading up on ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Rolling a gaming OS?

I'd like to get some advice on this because it seems like a daunting task. I'm a relative newbie when it comes to Linux, but I've been reading up on the various manuals and aspects of the OS. I've been wanting to switch, but can't because many games are stuck on Windows. With the bigger rush of support for Linux lately, especially from the indies, I'd like to switch over, but there's still a few problems.

I've been using OpenSuse for a while since I've heard nothing but good things about it compared to Ubuntu. (Ubuntu seems to get a lot of flak because of it's broken Unity DE and it's figurehead seems like a douche.) I thought it would be difficult to compile my own gaming OS around OpenSuse till I saw SuseStudio. God bless you people.

Mainly it's the GUI. How easy is it to re-theme\re-skin the interface of say KDE or LXDE? The default KDE and LXDE interface's in OpenSuse is alright, but it's not a very user friendly experience or eye pleasing. I know there's websites that have themes and skins you can download from, but what about doing my own thing? Would I have to use GTK+ or what other series of programs to make it?

Second is the Packages. I've got a lot of games from the Humble Bundle and while tar.gz and rpm files are decent, a few of them are not. .sh, .bin, and .run? Is there any way to convert these to rpm\tar or try to make them auto install without going into the terminal? At least with the mojo installer from Double Fine, they seem to put a lot of their effort into less install hassle for Linux users.