Find the answer to your Linux question:
Just a warning: I am pretty new to Linux. I am not very experienced with it... Two days ago I was trying to install Skyrim on my Ubuntu 12.04. After ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

ATI graphic card - Linux distribution suggestion

Just a warning: I am pretty new to Linux. I am not very experienced with it...

Two days ago I was trying to install Skyrim on my Ubuntu 12.04. After two days of work the only thing I managed to achieve was to break my Ubuntu. AFAIK installing games is very difficult with ATI card because it is not well supported (?). Is there a Linux distribution you would suggest to me? I will use it for browsing, working (texts) and gaming.

These are my system settings:

Version 6.1.7601 Service Pack 1 Build 7601
    Systemdevelopper ASUSTeK Computer Inc.
    Systemmodell G73Jh
    Systemtyp x64-based PC
    Prozessor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU Q 740 (at) 1.73GHz, 1734 MHz, 4 cores, 8 logic Prozessor
    BIOS-Version/-date American Megatrends Inc. G73Jh.213, 27.01.2011
    SMBIOS-Version 2.6
    system registry C:\Windows\system32
    starting device \Device\HarddiskVolume2
    Hardware abstraction level Version = "6.1.7601.17514"
    installed physical memory (RAM) 8,00 GB
    overall real memory 7,93 GB
    available real memory 5,25 GB
    overall virtual memory 15,9 GB
    available virtual memory 12,3 GB
    size of the swap file 7,93 GB
    swap file C:\pagefile.sys

I translated these from german, so they might be wrong.

On Ubuntu 12.04 I experienced some issues. It was kind of slow. If I had more than 4 taps in firefox open, firefox would repeatedly freeze temporarily. Steam would freeze or just close randomly.

Is there a linux distribution that would fit better to my system? Remember it has to be somewhat beginner friendly...

Thanks for your help!