Find the answer to your Linux question:
I'm a Linux user. I like it because I'm a software developer and this OS lends itself more easily to development than Windows I'd say. Not sure about Apple, never ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Linux vs Unix

I'm a Linux user. I like it because I'm a software developer and this OS lends itself more easily to development than Windows I'd say. Not sure about Apple, never used one. I don't understand all the antagonism between Linux users and "true" Unix users. Linux users seem to say Linux is best because it is open source. But as I understand it Linux wasn't created by the open source community. Rather it was a copy of AT&T's Unix at the time. Is this correct?

Linux User
    I like it for the same reasons, but as for
    But as I understand it Linux wasn't created by the open source community. Rather it was a copy of AT&T's Unix at the time. Is this correct?
    I believe you have it *exactly* backwards. Unix was a corporate project, and the guys who wrote it were not allowed to take it with them when they left, so they created the Gnu toolset which was a clone of the tools they made when they were corporate lackies. Linux is actually just the kernel, and the system is more properly known as Gnu/Linux, all created by the open source community.

Unix is closed source and always has been. Does anyone actually use it these days?

Just Joined!
    Well even if the GNU tools were clones, they were clones of a corporate, closed system. They weren't created with the intention and spirit of open-source.

Linux Engineer