Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
Starcraft.....Diablo 2(with expansion).......and Neverwinter Nights.....and Red Faction?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Minnesota, USA yes.....
    Posts
    479

    can Wine run these games?....


    Starcraft.....Diablo 2(with expansion).......and Neverwinter Nights.....and Red Faction?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    No idea... try it and see. It all depends on your Wine compilation and configuration. Sometimes it works, and sometimes it doesn't.
    I hear that Neverwinter Nights is supposed to get a native Linux port sometime this month or the next, though, so you might want to wait until then.

  3. #3
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Minnesota, USA yes.....
    Posts
    479
    well i heard that too....but i just bought neverwinter nights then decided i didnt want anything to do with windows......stupid me....so im not going to go out and buy another

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    You'll probably be able to download the binaries when they are released.

  6. #5
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Minnesota, USA yes.....
    Posts
    479
    The installed Wine libraries will not be found!
    You can either:
    Add the line '/usr/local/lib' to /etc/ld.so.conf and run /sbin/ldconfig
    export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$LD_LIBRARY_PATH:/usr/local/lib


    i get that after doing "make install" for Wine any ideas on how to do this fix this whatnot?

  7. #6
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Do as they say. Add /usr/local/lib to the end of your /etc/ld.so.conf and then run /sbin/ldconfig. I really don't understand why RedHat doesn't have /usr/local/lib in there from the beginning, though.

  8. #7
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Minnesota, USA yes.....
    Posts
    479
    what are the commands i need to do that?

  9. #8
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Code:
    echo /usr/local/lib >>/etc/ld.so.conf
    /sbin/ldconfig
    You will need to be root to execute those commands. If you aren't already logged in as root (which you shouldn't be), run "su", and enter your root password to become root.
    You could just as well add that line using any text editor that you have installed on your system, but I provided the echo command here instead.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •