Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Im on Mandrake 9.1 and i dont like it....too slow...dont want RH and gentoo is giving me too much trouble....so im looking for a fast and reliable OS and links ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Linux User

Looking for a Fast and Reliable OS...

Im on Mandrake 9.1 and i dont like it....too slow...dont want RH and gentoo is giving me too much trouble....so im looking for a fast and reliable OS and links to the Download site/page if possible.thx

Linux Engineer
    What's wrong with Mandrake or RedHat? How new are you to Linux? Unless you know what you are doing, I suggest you stay within that distro just to take your baby steps.
    The best things in life are free.

Linux User
    im fairly new to linux but am catching on quite fast...and if i need questions answerd there is always Linuxforums.org and Gamefaqs.com and my uncle is really really good with linux and hes just one phone call away....and if it gets too difficult. there is always my disks of mandrake. this is all unless you know how to make mandrake much faster. i like speed when doing thing and i like challenges biggest reasons why i love linux. but the speed part isnt being supported by mandrake

Linux User
    what is your system hardware like? 3G of CPU? mine is 1800+ AMD XP CPU, but still find RH slow, but I think it is because of my HD is 66 IDE and 5200 speed only. I think Windows XP runs much more faster on 2000+ on my other machine, Harddisk is better as well, with 2M buffer and 7200 speed, I think the problem is from VGA card and HD, my Ram is ok, I think if I use a 8M buffer rate HD would be much more faster, like this one

P R O D U C T
    IBM IC35L180AVV207-1

S P E C I F I C A T I O N S
    Capacity 180GB
    Rotation Speed 7200rpm
    Interface UDMA100
    Access Time 8.5ms
    Cache 8MB

R E M A R K
    Deskstar 180GXP

Signature removed by moderator - please see forum rules