Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: seeing site

Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,901

    seeing site


    For some reason I can not get to LFDO except with my little LG pad. Neither laptop, one with W10 and one with various Linux distros. Linux Mint, Gentoo live DVD, Exgent and Slackware.
    Sometimes the site comes up for a brief second, then goes away. It will just sit there trying to connect. It won't timeout either.
    If you want to learn more about linux take a linux journey
    https://linuxjourney.com/
    Use CODE tags when posting output of commands. Thank you.
    https://www.linuxcounter.net/cert/608410.png

  2. #2
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    14,038
    How are you connecting with the pad? WiFi or Cellular?
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

  3. #3
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,901
    WiFi. If it was the hotspot my LG provides I could understand. But, I am using the same network as the 2 laptops.
    If you want to learn more about linux take a linux journey
    https://linuxjourney.com/
    Use CODE tags when posting output of commands. Thank you.
    https://www.linuxcounter.net/cert/608410.png

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    14,038
    I assume your access point is using the default of channel 6? If so, change it to 2 or 9 or some other number and try connecting again. You may be getting interference from another local WiFi device in the neighborhood.
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

  6. #5
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,901
    I switched it to channel 11. It was set on automatic. It didn't make a difference.
    If you want to learn more about linux take a linux journey
    https://linuxjourney.com/
    Use CODE tags when posting output of commands. Thank you.
    https://www.linuxcounter.net/cert/608410.png

  7. #6
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    14,038
    Quote Originally Posted by budman7 View Post
    I switched it to channel 11. It was set on automatic. It didn't make a difference.
    Well, it was worth a try. It may be time for a new access point / router. Is this one provided by your ISP? Or is it one you bought yourself?
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

  8. #7
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,901

    found the problem

    -->
    Attempting to login with Firefox, FF has determined that there is badware on LFDO.

    If I use FF I can not log in at all.
    This is the page where I found this.
    https://www.stopbadware.org/firefox?...org%2Fforum%2F
    If you want to learn more about linux take a linux journey
    https://linuxjourney.com/
    Use CODE tags when posting output of commands. Thank you.
    https://www.linuxcounter.net/cert/608410.png

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •