Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
I have a sound blaster live value, RH9, fresh install and updated, except for the kernal source. i installed XMMS, and it looks like it plays, but i get no ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    tampa
    Posts
    21

    system sound not working


    I have a sound blaster live value, RH9, fresh install and updated, except for the kernal source. i installed XMMS, and it looks like it plays, but i get no sound,

    everything looks like it is configured properly, but i cant get any system sound?

    can anyone help.

  2. #2
    flw
    flw is offline
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,025
    Dan

    \"Keep your friends close and your enemies even closer\" from The Art of War by Sun Tzu\"

  3. #3
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682
    What driver do you have installed for the soundcard?
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Calgary, AB CANADA
    Posts
    496
    I'm still playing around with my new install of RH 9.0, and I noticed I have the same problem with a SB Live 5.1 card.

    XMMS appears to play, but there's no audio. The CD player also acts the same way. And eventhough I have sound events turned on and all of them play with sound in the configuration gui, only some of them are actually heard while using the system (seems to be all the Galeon ones that don't).

    I haven't had much time to play around with this, but I'll be checking here for any posted solutions!

    BTW, I'm not on that machine right now, so I can't check which driver it's using...

  6. #5
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682
    If you're not running the emu10k1 driver, then I suggest that. It works well for all SB cards.
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    9
    Look in the control panel, not sure it's name in RH9, I use Mandrake 9.1, there is a "master" app there for sound, within Mandrake the "speakers" were set to mute for some reason, right off a "clean" install.


    HTH
    Will

  8. #7
    Linux Engineer kriss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,113
    what output do you get from "lsmod"?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •