Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 29
i just need to know what version to get? 8.1 or 9.0? my specs are as follows... P3 800mhz Maxtor Diamondmax plus 320 sdram radeon 7000...thx...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Minnesota, USA yes.....
    Posts
    479

    im going to try Slackware....


    i just need to know what version to get? 8.1 or 9.0?
    my specs are as follows...
    P3 800mhz
    Maxtor Diamondmax plus
    320 sdram
    radeon 7000...thx

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    UK, Manchester
    Posts
    147
    I dont think there is much difference between the installation process so I would go with version 9 to get the latest software.

  3. #3
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Minnesota, USA yes.....
    Posts
    479
    ok i downloaded the install ISO for Slackware 9.0 and here is the error on bootup

    "ISOLINUX 2.01 2003-01-31 isolinux: Disk error 01 AX = 421E, Drive 9F"

    anyone know why it does this?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    That error doesn't really mean anything to anyone who isn't actively developing ISOLINUX. I'm guessing that the disk is unreadable, though.

  6. #5
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Minnesota, USA yes.....
    Posts
    479
    well do you think it was a bad burn or a bad DL...the dl got stoped and started at leased 3-4 times

  7. #6
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    No idea really. The only way to try is to check the MD5 sums of the D/L'd ISOs, if you still have them.

  8. #7
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Hong Kong, China
    Posts
    256
    why not re-download any burn it the second time? only one disk needed for slack?
    Signature removed by moderator - please see forum rules

  9. #8
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Minnesota, USA yes.....
    Posts
    479
    ok i just thought of something...does slackware need a boot disk? because i re-downloaded and re burned it.,....same problem

  10. #9
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Now that you mention it, a boot disk should be able to solve the problem. It probably doesn't really require a boot disk, but then again, if you write a boot disk, it will probably work.

  11. #10
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Minnesota, USA yes.....
    Posts
    479
    ok do you know how i could find/get one?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •