Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi All - I'm new to Linux Forums, and posting my first question - so be gentle with me I want to mount my usb devices (pen drive, sd card ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

UUID

Hi All - I'm new to Linux Forums, and posting my first question - so be gentle with me

I want to mount my usb devices (pen drive, sd card drive, and USB HD) by using fstab entries.

The problem is of course, that if i mount the pendrive first it uses sda1 and the net one get sdb1and vis a versa.

I see in the fstab man pages that i can mount by UUID instead. Problem is - how do i get that info. Either UUID or LABEL will do.

TIA - Tom
    - Clouds don't crash - Bertrand Meyer

registered Linux user 393557

finally - hw to brag about - but next year it will look pitifully quaint:
    Athlon64 X2 3800 - 1G PC3200 - 250G SATA - ati radeon x300
    circa 2006

Well welcome to the forum... and no I will not be gentle with you! I see you have Knoppix installed, but you also have RH9 loaded, so here are my questions to you:
    1. Did you use the live Knoppix CD to check if the devices could be found and used by the distro?
    2. Now that you have Knoppix loaded, did you plug in the USB devices in before booting the OS up the first time, so it could find them and make record of them as plug and play devices?

As I do not use RH, so I can not help you there, and I do not see a problem with the mounting of the USB devices, first come, first served.

To get the info you want, try www.google/linux

I guess i didn't phrase my question correctly - must be the pain killers ...

U have no problem with either of my distros - this is a Linux question concerning fstab.