Find the answer to your Linux question:
I've been using Linux for a few years now and for a long time I would install from source rather than any binaries. I used to install the source to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

I was wondering how do other people manage source installs?

I've been using Linux for a few years now and for a long time I would install from source rather than any binaries. I used to install the source to a specific directory and then create links in the /usr/bin directory. This was fine in most circumstances, except I didn't create links for man pages, sometimes a program would be looking for a file in a certain area, I might forget to link something, etc. I started using rpm because it was so much easier to maintain, upgrade, and uninstall if needed. However, I would like to use Gentoo as my primary desktop and I'm interested in getting into FreeBSD and both are source based. I know Gentoo has a great package management system but I might want to install things without using this, plus I'm not aware of anything like this for FreeBSD. I rather source and I'd rather let the program install the files in their default location but I was wondering how can I keep track of all the files that were installed? How do I uninstall if need be? How do I upgrade without creating conflicts?

Linux Engineer