Find the answer to your Linux question:
I have an old toshiba laptop, with 200mhz cpu, 32mb ram, 2 gig harddrive. I am somewhat new to linux, and am having one hell of a time trying to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Which Distro will work for me?

I have an old toshiba laptop, with 200mhz cpu, 32mb ram, 2 gig harddrive. I am somewhat new to linux, and am having one hell of a time trying to find a distro that will actually install on this laptop. I have tried to install redhat 7, 8, and 9, suse 9.1 personal, smoothwall, damn small linux, elx. Whenever I try to install, it hangs or gives me an error when its trying to start the installer. I have been able to get live cds like knoppix std to work, but not the regular knoppix, and i really dont want to have to boot off a cd everytime. If anyone knows of a distro that works well with old school hardware, or is just an old version, i would appreciate it. Or maybe some trick to getting the ones i metioned before to work would be great. I have tried different boot options, but they dont seem to help much. Any advice is much appreciated.

take a look here
    http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/topic-19023.html
    I really doubt that anything with that little ram will work. CPU and hard drive are fine.
    Brilliant Mediocrity - Making Failure Look Good

BeatrIX claims to be very compatible with older, lower RAM machines. I'd try out their live cd and see how it runs on your Toshiba. If it runs satisfactorily you can then install it which is pretty easy. I've been checking out BeatrIX for a few weeks now and am very impressed with it.
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered:#371367 New Members: click here

Just Joined!
    thanks dapper dan, there are so many distros out there to go through, i appreciate you being so direct.

Linux User