Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
hi all, Is the source code (obviously kernel isn't it??) avaiable with any distro? If it is, can we modify the source code sitting on that Distro(OS). And create a ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    17

    is the source code available with any Linux distribution?


    hi all,

    Is the source code (obviously kernel isn't it??) avaiable with any
    distro?
    If it is, can we modify the source code sitting on that
    Distro(OS). And create a new distro?

    Thanks
    Nazib

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer Giro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,219
    Genraly it is avalible but some distro's like Suse use propiatory software (YAST2) but as long as its GPL you can just change the name and relese it as its yours as long as you make all GPL code avalible wth your changes.

    ps, Im no expert on the GPL

  3. #3
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Quote Originally Posted by Giro
    Genraly it is avalible but some distro's like Suse use propiatory software (YAST2) but as long as its GPL you can just change the name and relese it as its yours as long as you make all GPL code avalible wth your changes.
    There are distros that use commercial applications that are not freely available in source code form, but as of about a year ago, SuSE is not one of them.

    YaST is now freely available under the GPL License

    Xandros uses a file manager that is not open-sourced yet (XFM), and Linspire uses a program called ClickNRun that forms the basis for its entire business.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer Giro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,219
    Thats not what most people use IIRC YAST is the consol version YAST2 is the GUI is YAST2 GPL the artical only says YAST? Im not 100% sure since I havent used Suse for a long time.

  5. #5
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Quote Originally Posted by Giro
    Thats not what most people use IIRC YAST is the consol version YAST2 is the GUI is YAST2 GPL the artical only says YAST? Im not 100% sure since I havent used Suse for a long time.
    There is a Yast2 for Debian project that claims Yast2 is GPLed. Yast2 can be run from the command-line as well.

    Some searching on Novell's website turns up that the YaST2 devel package and all related packages (that I found) are GPL licensed. If there's something not GPL about YaST or YaST2, I'm missing it.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  6. #6
    Linux Enthusiast scientica's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    South- or "Mid-" Sweden
    Posts
    742
    here's some FAQs about the GPL:
    http://www.gnu.org/licenses/gpl-faq.html
    Regards Scienitca (registered user #335819 - http://counter.li.org )
    --
    A master is nothing more than a student who knows something of which he can teach to other students.

  7. #7
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    home
    Posts
    796
    If it is licensed under GPL, the source must be available, according to the license. This does not nessecarily mean on the cd, but usually it is on the cd.

  8. #8
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Rockin' in the USA!!!
    Posts
    603
    GNU/Linux: Yes.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •