Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 25
this is what it looks like now: boot=/dev/hda map=/boot/map default="linux" keytable=/boot/us.klt prompt nowarn timeout=100 message=/boot/message menu-scheme=wb:bw:wb:bw image=/boot/vmlinuz label="Mandrake" root=/dev/hdb5 initrd=/boot/initrd.img append="devfs=mount hdd=ide-scsi acpi=off quiet" vga=788 read-only #image=/boot/vmlinuz label="linux-nonfb" root=/dev/hdb5 initrd=/boot/initrd.img ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    56

    this is what it looks like now:

    boot=/dev/hda
    map=/boot/map
    default="linux"
    keytable=/boot/us.klt
    prompt
    nowarn
    timeout=100
    message=/boot/message
    menu-scheme=wb:bw:wb:bw

    image=/boot/vmlinuz
    label="Mandrake"
    root=/dev/hdb5
    initrd=/boot/initrd.img
    append="devfs=mount hdd=ide-scsi acpi=off quiet"
    vga=788
    read-only

    #image=/boot/vmlinuz
    label="linux-nonfb"
    root=/dev/hdb5
    initrd=/boot/initrd.img
    append="devfs=mount hdd=ide-scsi acpi=off"
    read-only

    image=/boot/vmlinuz
    label="failsafe"
    root=/dev/hdb5
    initrd=/boot/initrd.img
    append="devfs=nomount hdd=ide-scsi acpi=off failsafe"
    read-only

    other=/dev/hda1
    label="Windows"
    table=/dev/hda

    #other=/dev/hdb1
    label="windows2"
    table=/dev/hdb
    map-drive=0x80
    to=0x81
    map-drive=0x81
    to=0x80

    other=/dev/fd0
    label="floppy"
    unsafe

    #image=/boot/vmlinuz-2.4.21-0.13mdksmp
    label=2421-13smp
    root=/dev/hdb5
    read-only
    optional
    vga=788
    append=" devfs=mount hdd=ide-scsi acpi=off quiet"
    initrd=/boot/initrd-2.4.21-0.13mdksmp.img

    #image=/boot/vmlinuz-2.4.21-0.13mdkenterprise
    label=2421-13ent
    root=/dev/hdb5
    read-only
    optional
    vga=788
    append=" devfs=mount hdd=ide-scsi acpi=off quiet"
    initrd=/boot/initrd-2.4.21-0.13mdkenterprise.img

    #image=/boot/vmlinuz-2.4.21-0.13mdksecure
    label=2421-13sec
    root=/dev/hdb5
    read-only
    optional
    vga=788
    append=" devfs=mount hdd=ide-scsi acpi=off quiet"
    initrd=/boot/initrd-2.4.21-0.13mdksecure.img
    **EDIT**

    wait...i notice something. Since I changed the label from Linux to Mandrake, dont I need to edit this first part too?

    boot=/dev/hda
    map=/boot/map
    default="linux"
    keytable=/boot/us.klt
    prompt
    nowarn
    timeout=100
    message=/boot/message
    menu-scheme=wb:bw:wb:bw
    see where it says default='linux'? I changed the label down here:

    image=/boot/vmlinuz
    label="Mandrake"
    root=/dev/hdb5
    initrd=/boot/initrd.img
    append="devfs=mount hdd=ide-scsi acpi=off quiet"
    vga=788
    read-only
    now wouldnt the first part need to point to the 2nd part?

  2. #12
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,284
    yes it would.

    remember when you comment out those sections you dont want, you need to comment out the whole section, not just the top line.

    If you still get errors about a particular line, can you paste the latest version of the file, with that line highlighted/clearly marked, in case some of the formatting is getting lost on the way.

    Cheers,

    Jason

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    56
    Quote Originally Posted by Jaguar
    yes it would.

    remember when you comment out those sections you dont want, you need to comment out the whole section, not just the top line.

    If you still get errors about a particular line, can you paste the latest version of the file, with that line highlighted/clearly marked, in case some of the formatting is getting lost on the way.

    Cheers,

    Jason
    so would i change 'default="linux"' to 'default="mandrake"'?

    -----------------------------------------------------------------

    so for example, on this section, itd be :

    #image=/boot/vmlinuz-2.4.21-0.13mdksecure
    #label=2421-13sec
    #root=/dev/hdb5
    #read-only
    #optional
    #vga=788
    #append=" devfs=mount hdd=ide-scsi acpi=off quiet"
    #initrd=/boot/initrd-2.4.21-0.13mdksecure.img

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #14
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    56
    ok, i changed it to this:

    boot=/dev/hda
    map=/boot/map
    default="Mandrake"
    keytable=/boot/us.klt
    prompt
    nowarn
    timeout=100
    message=/boot/message
    menu-scheme=wb:bw:wb:bw

    image=/boot/vmlinuz
    label="Mandrake"
    root=/dev/hdb5
    initrd=/boot/initrd.img
    append="devfs=mount hdd=ide-scsi acpi=off quiet"
    vga=788
    read-only

    #image=/boot/vmlinuz
    #label="linux-nonfb"
    #root=/dev/hdb5
    #initrd=/boot/initrd.img
    #append="devfs=mount hdd=ide-scsi acpi=off"
    #read-only

    image=/boot/vmlinuz
    label="failsafe"
    root=/dev/hdb5
    initrd=/boot/initrd.img
    append="devfs=nomount hdd=ide-scsi acpi=off failsafe"
    read-only

    other=/dev/hda1
    label="Windows"
    table=/dev/hda

    #other=/dev/hdb1
    #label="windows2"
    #table=/dev/hdb
    #map-drive=0x80
    to=0x81
    #map-drive=0x81
    to=0x80

    other=/dev/fd0
    label="floppy"
    unsafe

    #image=/boot/vmlinuz-2.4.21-0.13mdksmp
    #label=2421-13smp
    #root=/dev/hdb5
    #read-only
    #optional
    #vga=788
    #append=" devfs=mount hdd=ide-scsi acpi=off quiet"
    #initrd=/boot/initrd-2.4.21-0.13mdksmp.img

    #image=/boot/vmlinuz-2.4.21-0.13mdkenterprise
    #label=2421-13ent
    #root=/dev/hdb5
    #read-only
    #optional
    #vga=788
    #append=" devfs=mount hdd=ide-scsi acpi=off quiet"
    #initrd=/boot/initrd-2.4.21-0.13mdkenterprise.img

    #image=/boot/vmlinuz-2.4.21-0.13mdksecure
    #label=2421-13sec
    #root=/dev/hdb5
    #read-only
    #optional
    #vga=788
    #append=" devfs=mount hdd=ide-scsi acpi=off quiet"
    #initrd=/boot/initrd-2.4.21-0.13mdksecure.img
    and ran /sbin/lilo, and got this message:



    Added Mandrake *
    Added failsafe
    Added Windows
    Syntax error at or above line 41 in file '/etc/lilo.conf'
    I shouldnt reboot yet, should I? sounds like something went wrong...

  6. #15
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,284
    ...
    #other=/dev/hdb1
    #label="windows2"
    #table=/dev/hdb
    #map-drive=0x80
    to=0x81
    #map-drive=0x81
    to=0x80

    other=/dev/fd0
    label="floppy"
    unsafe
    ...
    does any of this stuff need to stay? i would comment it all out, not sure why you have "to=xxx" decleared twice?

    Jason

  7. #16
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    56
    i should coment those two to= lines out? I want the floppy to stay tho...i might need it, eh?

    ***EDIT***

    oh sweet, i did that, and I didnt get an error message this time. lemme reboot and see if those unwanted listings have disappeared!

  8. #17
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    56
    oh sweet, i did that, and I didnt get an error message this time. lemme reboot and see if those unwanted listings have disappeared!

  9. #18
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    56
    YAY!!! theyre gone! GONE!!! Now my dual boot is setup just the way I want it to be! Thx so MUCH for your 1337 help, Jaguar! you are a valuable resource to the linux community! Lobg live elite Linux!!!

    :P

  10. #19
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    56
    OK, one last question. On this part,
    image=/boot/vmlinuz
    label="Mandrake"
    root=/dev/hdb5
    initrd=/boot/initrd.img
    append="devfs=mount hdd=ide-scsi acpi=off quiet"
    vga=788
    read-only
    , can I change Mandrake to Mandrake 9.1? or would that be dangerous?

    and can I change the label of my windows partition to Windows XP, instead of windows? thx.

  11. #20
    flw
    flw is offline
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,025
    so would i change 'default="linux"' to 'default="mandrake"'
    I believe it's just a text string so it really doesn't matter. You could call it Mickey Mouse if you wanted.
    Dan

    \"Keep your friends close and your enemies even closer\" from The Art of War by Sun Tzu\"

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •