Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25
i have many listings of mandrkae, like linux 2.636363, linux 2.8282, failsafe, mandrake, I dont want so many, how do get rid of them? thx....
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    56

    unwanted listings in LILO bootloader


    i have many listings of mandrkae, like linux 2.636363, linux 2.8282, failsafe, mandrake, I dont want so many, how do get rid of them? thx.

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer kriss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,113
    remove their sections from /etc/lilo.conf

    But, back up your lilo config before you start tampering with it, or just comment out the parts you dont want (#)
    After that, run /sbin/lilo to update it, and you should be fine.

    Good Luck

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    56
    thx!

    p.s. were your instructions safe? can a newbie do this correctly?

    hehe

  4. #4
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,284
    Quote Originally Posted by sk8bloke87
    thx!

    p.s. were your instructions safe? can a newbie do this correctly?

    hehe
    If you do a backup of the file first, and have a boot disk to hand, then even if it does get messed up its not the end of the world :P

    Jason

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    56
    ok, i just edited the file...but there seemed to be a problem of some sort when I got into CLI and typed in 'vi /etc/lilo.conf'...i kept getting a message about some swapfile thing named .lilo.conf or something like that, and it asked me if i still wanted toe dit it, i typed in E, for edit, and made changes as described by Kriss. I saved the changes too. Now I need to run the /sbin/lilo executable, as Kriss pointed out also...but when logged in in my user account, Im not allowed to do that. how would I run the executable in CLI logged in as root? thx lots.

  6. #6
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,284
    the same way as a normal user?

    type "su" to get from a "normal" user to becoming root.

    Jason

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    56
    ino, but how do i run the lilo executable?

  8. #8
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Calgary, AB CANADA
    Posts
    496
    Quote Originally Posted by sk8bloke87
    ino, but how do i run the lilo executable?
    You're previous post answers this for you. Didn't you say that when you tried to run '/sbin/lilo' under your user account, that it said you're not allow to? Follow Jason's directions to 'su' to the root account and try the '/sbin/lilo' command again.
    \"Everything should be made as simple as possible, but not simpler.\"
    Albert Einstein

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    56
    ok, i typed '/sbin/lilo' in console logged in as root, but I got this message: Duplicate entry at or above line 18 in file /etc/lilo.conf.

    what the heck? I looked in the file, and there werent any duplicate entries. here is my lilo.cong btw:

    boot=/dev/hda
    map=/boot/map
    default="linux"
    keytable=/boot/us.klt
    prompt
    nowarn
    timeout=100
    message=/boot/message
    menu-scheme=wb:bw:wb:bw
    image=/boot/vmlinuz
    label="Mandrake"
    root=/dev/hdb5
    initrd=/boot/initrd.img
    append="devfs=mount hdd=ide-scsi acpi=off quiet"
    vga=788
    read-only
    #image=/boot/vmlinuz
    label="linux-nonfb"
    root=/dev/hdb5
    initrd=/boot/initrd.img
    append="devfs=mount hdd=ide-scsi acpi=off"
    read-only
    image=/boot/vmlinuz
    label="failsafe"
    root=/dev/hdb5
    initrd=/boot/initrd.img
    append="devfs=nomount hdd=ide-scsi acpi=off failsafe"
    read-only
    other=/dev/hda1
    label="Windows"
    table=/dev/hda
    #other=/dev/hdb1
    label="windows2"
    table=/dev/hdb
    map-drive=0x80
    to=0x81
    map-drive=0x81
    to=0x80
    other=/dev/fd0
    label="floppy"
    unsafe

    #image=/boot/vmlinuz-2.4.21-0.13mdksmp
    label=2421-13smp
    root=/dev/hdb5
    read-only
    optional
    vga=788
    append=" devfs=mount hdd=ide-scsi acpi=off quiet"
    initrd=/boot/initrd-2.4.21-0.13mdksmp.img

    #image=/boot/vmlinuz-2.4.21-0.13mdkenterprise
    label=2421-13ent
    root=/dev/hdb5
    read-only
    optional
    vga=788
    append=" devfs=mount hdd=ide-scsi acpi=off quiet"
    initrd=/boot/initrd-2.4.21-0.13mdkenterprise.img

    #image=/boot/vmlinuz-2.4.21-0.13mdksecure
    label=2421-13sec
    root=/dev/hdb5
    read-only
    optional
    vga=788
    append=" devfs=mount hdd=ide-scsi acpi=off quiet"
    initrd=/boot/initrd-2.4.21-0.13mdksecure.img
    thx for all the help.

  10. #10
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,284
    Try this:

    Quote Originally Posted by sk8bloke87
    boot=/dev/hda
    map=/boot/map
    default="linux"
    keytable=/boot/us.klt
    prompt
    nowarn
    timeout=100
    message=/boot/message
    menu-scheme=wb:bw:wb:bw

    image=/boot/vmlinuz
    label="Mandrake"
    root=/dev/hdb5
    initrd=/boot/initrd.img
    append="devfs=mount hdd=ide-scsi acpi=off quiet"
    vga=788
    read-only

    #image=/boot/vmlinuz
    # label="linux-nonfb"
    # root=/dev/hdb5
    # initrd=/boot/initrd.img
    # append="devfs=mount hdd=ide-scsi acpi=off"
    # read-only

    image=/boot/vmlinuz
    label="failsafe"
    root=/dev/hdb5
    initrd=/boot/initrd.img
    append="devfs=nomount hdd=ide-scsi acpi=off failsafe"
    read-only
    other=/dev/hda1
    label="Windows"
    table=/dev/hda

    #other=/dev/hdb1
    # label="windows2"
    # table=/dev/hdb
    # map-drive=0x80
    # to=0x81
    # map-drive=0x81
    # to=0x80
    #other=/dev/fd0
    # label="floppy"
    # unsafe
    #
    #image=/boot/vmlinuz-2.4.21-0.13mdksmp
    # label=2421-13smp
    # root=/dev/hdb5
    # read-only
    # optional
    # vga=788
    # append=" devfs=mount hdd=ide-scsi acpi=off quiet"
    # initrd=/boot/initrd-2.4.21-0.13mdksmp.img
    #
    #image=/boot/vmlinuz-2.4.21-0.13mdkenterprise
    # label=2421-13ent
    # root=/dev/hdb5
    # read-only
    # optional
    # vga=788
    # append=" devfs=mount hdd=ide-scsi acpi=off quiet"
    # initrd=/boot/initrd-2.4.21-0.13mdkenterprise.img

    #image=/boot/vmlinuz-2.4.21-0.13mdksecure
    # label=2421-13sec
    # root=/dev/hdb5
    # read-only
    # optional
    # vga=788
    # append=" devfs=mount hdd=ide-scsi acpi=off quiet"
    # initrd=/boot/initrd-2.4.21-0.13mdksecure.img

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •