Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hey, Im kind of new to computer programming and server administration, but im the type of person who likes a challenge so heres my situation. I want to run a ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Just wondering

Hey, Im kind of new to computer programming and server administration, but im the type of person who likes a challenge so heres my situation. I want to run a webserver for a text based strategy game. Im going to write it out in python cgi scripts (python for ease of use) with all the data stored in a mysql database. Now, how exactly do i get user name authentication to match up with info in the my sql database? do i assign each person their own mini database containing their info accessed by their username and password? If you could point me to a tutorial that i might have missed while googling that would be just as appreciated as anything. If I havent made my question clear enough let me know. All help is appreciated.

Linux Newbie

Re: Just wondering

Quote Originally Posted by mrprchr
    ...do i assign each person their own mini database containing their info accessed by their username and password? ...
    Dya mean like a replacement to tables??

Just Joined!
    Well, i think i worded that kind of awkwardly. Basically what im saying is im going to make a game, and when people log in to the game, how do i handle that? When they click on the login link how do i make it so that it is that persons kingdom information that is displayed? Im not really sure how to word it, but i think thats a little better of an idea.

Linux Newbie
    Well, what about this:

Give each user a user id (UID).

Have a table with each UID, there login name, screen name (if you want a sperate one) and password.

UID login_name screen_name password
    001 "france20" "French Fred" "x1s5f1x"
    002 "bobToo" "King Edward" "toilets"