Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
everytime i try to enter 'configure' into shell to install a program i get this: [root@localhost xine-lib-0.9.13]# ./configure creating cache ./config.cache checking host system type... i686-pc-linux-gnu checking target system type... ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    21

    Help installing programs


    everytime i try to enter 'configure' into shell to install a program i get this:



    [root@localhost xine-lib-0.9.13]# ./configure
    creating cache ./config.cache
    checking host system type... i686-pc-linux-gnu
    checking target system type... i686-pc-linux-gnu
    checking build system type... i686-pc-linux-gnu
    checking for a BSD compatible install... /usr/bin/install -c
    checking whether build environment is sane... yes
    checking whether make sets ${MAKE}... yes
    checking for working aclocal... missing
    checking for working autoconf... missing
    checking for working automake... missing
    checking for working autoheader... missing
    checking for working makeinfo... found
    checking for strerror in -lcposix... no
    checking for gcc... no
    checking for cc... no
    configure: error: no acceptable cc found in $PATH

    That was with Xine, but i had the same result with Xmms...

    aide!

  2. #2
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    You need to install GCC. Try rpm.pbone.net.

  3. #3
    Linux Guru bryansmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    /Ontario/Canada
    Posts
    2,619
    Hi cxr_azy,

    What distro are you using? Odds are that if you are using one of the more major ones then you have a package management system which will solve all your program installing problems. Let me know what distro you are using and I will help you with your package management (assuming it has a package management system).

    Bryan
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    21

    uhh

    Mandrake 10.0 , and im gonna try the rpm.phobe.net thing

  5. #5
    Linux Guru bryansmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    /Ontario/Canada
    Posts
    2,619
    Since you are using Mandrake, I believe your package management system is called urpmi. I have no idea how to use this although there might be a tutorial or post somewhere on this forum about it. If not, try looking for an urpmi tutorial on Google.

    Hope that helps,
    Bryan
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

  6. #6
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    cxr_azy you should be able to install gcc via urmpi with:
    Code:
    su
    [rootpass]
    urpmi gcc
    For a tutorial on how to settup and use urpmi have a look at this tutorial, the section on urpmi is about halfway down.

    dylunio
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •