Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 24
Now it says none....
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Huntington Beach, CA
    Posts
    390

    Now it says none.

  2. #12
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    What does it say if you run "modprobe sr_mod"?

  3. #13
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Minnesota, USA yes.....
    Posts
    479
    maybe the drives are no longer globalized on boot?

  4. #14
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Huntington Beach, CA
    Posts
    390
    It doesn't do anything when I run modprobe sr_mod.

  5. #15
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    After you have modprobed for sr_mod, what is in /proc/ide/hd?/driver?

  6. #16
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Huntington Beach, CA
    Posts
    390
    After I ran the modprobe and then went to open the /proc/ide/hdx/driver it said "file driver changed on disk. Reread from disk yes or no?" Answering both yes and no still gave none in the file.

  7. #17
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Check with lsmod so that both sr_mod, scsi_mod and ide-scsi are loaded.

  8. #18
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Huntington Beach, CA
    Posts
    390
    scsi_mod and ide-scsi are loading, but didn't see a sr_mod.

  9. #19
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Now, how can that be possible if you modprobe for it? Doens't it say anything at all, and especially, check for any logged kernel messages once you have tried to load it.

  10. #20
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Huntington Beach, CA
    Posts
    390
    Oh yeah I see it now, it was at the top. Under the not tainted column it says it's unused.[/code]

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •