Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 16 of 16
Joninator is correct, custom. that is in 9.1 anyway, dunno about other Mandrake versions....
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Lisburn
    Posts
    29

    Joninator is correct, custom.

    that is in 9.1 anyway, dunno about other Mandrake versions.

  2. #12
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Minnesota, USA yes.....
    Posts
    479
    2 things...maybe they are incompatible with linux...almost certain thats not it...just dont seem right. or maybe there is an error on the disk...thats all i can think of. so try and re-DL the disk that does the partitioning. or did you buy these disks?

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    20
    I downloaded them. I think Mandrake can't detect my second onboard controller. WHen I swap the cables Mnadrake detected my two drives but was unable to detect my other one. So it's Mandrake unable to detect one of my IDE controllers.

    I got it to install except I now get an error when I tried to install Lilo. It said something about destroying my file system. Can't remember exactly.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #14
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Minnesota, USA yes.....
    Posts
    479
    hmm so you have 2 seperate IDE controllers? aside from the Mobo's ide controllers? or just one but it only detects the drives that are on the primary? did you change the jumpers on the drives? that could most likely be a factor

  6. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    20
    I got Mandrake RUNNING!!!

    I have a total 4 controllers on my mainboard. Two UDMA 133 and two Raid controllers (modified bios and turned it into 2 regular IDE controllers). Mandrake is not detecting my harddrives on my Raid controller.

    This is my new setup that works fine with me. Two harddrives on the Regular IDE controller (Linux) and One harddrive on Raid controller (I don't want Linux to touch my Windows drive anyways)

    OK, I'm using GRUB now instead of Lilo. How can I edit Grub boot manual so that I can add Windows XP to the list. I know my Mandrake doesn't detect my Windows Drive but I think Grub will detect it. Since I know my Windows Drive will be hdc or hde I can just add it manually. What file do I have to edit?

    Thanks for the help.

  7. #16
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    GRUB's config file has different names on different distros. I think Mdk uses /boot/grub/menu.lst.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •