Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
Hi, is there a method to set determine how I can make my next boot? I mean, most of the time, I am not going to need the GUI for ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    17

    Boot up in either Terminal Only or GUI modes


    Hi, is there a method to set determine how I can make my next boot? I mean, most of the time, I am not going to need the GUI for Linux, it will simply be running a Server and recording to logs. But other times, like when I need to troubleshoot or something, I will want a GUI to help me get around the system. Is there a command I can give in Red Hat 8.0 with KDE desktop to tell it 'Don't Start KDE or XWindows next time you boot' and then when I do want to restart in the GUI a 'Startup KDE next time?'

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    The easiest way is probably to add boot entries for which runlevel to enter upon boot. Runlevel 3 is text only, while runlevel 5 includes a display manager. Are you using GRUB or LILO?

    Otherwise, you could simply set it to always start in runlevel 3, then log in at the text login prompt and run "startx" whenever you feel the need for a GUI.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    17
    I am using Grub.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Then, can you post your /boot/grub/grub.conf here?

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    17
    Alright, think you pointed me in the right direction again So if I wanted the two boot options, I would do something like this in my grub.conf:
    Code:
    title Red Hat Linux Terminal
      root (hd2,0)
      kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.4.9-31 ro root=/dev/hdd1 hdc=ide-scsi init=3
      initrd /boot/initrd-2.4.9-31.img
    title Red Hat Linux KDE
      root (hd2,0)
      kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.4.9-31 ro root=/dev/hdd1 hdc=ide-scsi init=5
      initrd /boot/initrd-2.4.9-31.img
    But, of course, changing it to make sure the kernal versions and hd number are correct for my system (they should already be there as part of the default grub.conf I would guess), so really, I would just duplicate the default boot option give it a new title, and add init=bootlevel to the kernal line.

    This sound right?

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    17
    Quote Originally Posted by Dolda2000
    Then, can you post your /boot/grub/grub.conf here?
    Not at the moment, I am not at my Linux box till this evening...

  8. #7
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Well, you were essentially correct in your last post anyway. Just replace "init=3" and "init=5" with only "3" or "5".

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    17
    Okay, thanks

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    1

    Remote Server

    I am trying to get VNC working on a remote server that I have colocated.

    I would like to interface with KDE.


    This is what is in grub.conf, can you help me get KDE to boot automatically, without login, etc?

    Thanks in advance!





    GNU nano 1.2.4 File: grub.conf

    # grub.conf generated by anaconda
    #
    # Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to this file
    # NOTICE: You have a /boot partition. This means that
    # all kernel and initrd paths are relative to /boot/, eg.
    # root (hd0,0)
    # kernel /vmlinuz-version ro root=/dev/sda5
    # initrd /initrd-version.img
    #boot=/dev/sda
    default=1
    timeout=5
    splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
    hiddenmenu
    title Red Hat Enterprise Linux ES (2.6.9-42.0.10.EL)
    root (hd0,0)
    kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.9-42.0.10.EL ro root=LABEL=/
    initrd /initrd-2.6.9-42.0.10.EL.img
    title Red Hat Enterprise Linux ES (2.6.9-42.0.10.ELsmp)
    root (hd0,0)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •