Find the answer to your Linux question:
I'm new to Linux and just installed RedHat's 7.3 in a second HDD "E". There is nothing else on that drive and I'm booting with a floppy. My problem is ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Booting Linux 7.3

I'm new to Linux and just installed RedHat's 7.3 in a second HDD "E". There is nothing else on that drive and I'm booting with a floppy.

My problem is that every time I defrag my "C" drive; which has W2000 Pro; I cannot boot Linux; even with the floppy. I get a message saying that my SUPERBOOT is corrupt or that it cannot be read.

Please help!!! I want to learn more about Linux.

Thanks, Luis

Linux Guru
    Are you saying that you can actually see your linux partition as E: in Windows, or did I get you wrong? In that case you must have used the wrong filesystem, since Windows can't read ext3.
    What is your hard drive and partition layout, and what filesystems (FAT, NTFS, ext3, etc.) have you used on them. Where are they mounted in linux?

Linux Enthusiast
    he is defragging over his MBR. Forget how to fix this besides booting from floppy, and reformatting the MBR with `lilo` or `grub-install /dev/hda` And I don't even know if those will work.
    I respectfully decline the invitation to join your delusion.

Linux Guru
    Defragging over his MBR?! But that cannot possibly be possible?!

Linux Enthusiast
    you would be suprised what Windows will let you do. Maybe it isn't the MBR I am thinking of, maybe I am thinking of bootloader. He might have loadlin or something that loads it from a dos partition. I don't use windows, haven't in years, but I seem to remember reading something about this.
    I respectfully decline the invitation to join your delusion.

Linux Guru