Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
It's been a while and I can't remember what the default admin password is for Ubuntu. Hopefully someone knows it....
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    45

    Ubuntu base admin password


    It's been a while and I can't remember what the default admin password is for Ubuntu. Hopefully someone knows it.

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Chicago (USA)
    Posts
    1,028
    There isn't one.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    45
    well, when I try to run as user or in a terminal switch to root using SU and I leave the field blank, it says it failed. I no for a fact I never set a password, I forgot to.

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Chicago (USA)
    Posts
    1,028
    Try your normal user's password.

    IMO this is the worst thing about Ubuntu/Kubuntu.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    45
    Still doesn't work. I'm getting pretty mad, not at anyone, just this annoying thing.

  6. #6
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    Try sudo instead of su. With and without the normal user password.

    You did not forget to set a root pass, Ubuntu does not require a root pass.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  7. #7
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,431
    This is how you set the root-password in ubuntu (type it in the terminal):
    sudo passwd root
    your password
    desired root-password
    retype the desired root-password
    Then you should be able to su root.

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    45
    That works fine, but what if I wanna log in as root to change permissions for my windos-linux swap files? All the files are set so only the root account can do anythin with them, but I need to acces them and since it wont let me log in as root, I cant touch them.

  9. #9
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,431
    Quote Originally Posted by Tyrannicide
    That works fine, but what if I wanna log in as root to change permissions for my windos-linux swap files? All the files are set so only the root account can do anythin with them, but I need to acces them and since it wont let me log in as root, I cant touch them.
    You can either (preferrably) use "su -" to get root permissions in a terminal and do what you want there, or you can use "su -" as above and change the permissions with chmod/chown/chgrp. But the last alternative is not preferrable, there is a reason for the files beeing accessable only as root!

  10. #10
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Where my hat is
    Posts
    766
    You may wish to read Techie Moe's review of your distro. Root is NOT available as a default.
    Registered Linux user #384279
    Vector Linux SOHO 7

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •