Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 23
Originally Posted by puntmuts You could use a burning program to do that if you're too lazy to read the mkisofs manual. well i want a program that saves a ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    SA, TX
    Posts
    333

    Quote Originally Posted by puntmuts
    You could use a burning program to do that if you're too lazy to read the mkisofs manual.
    well i want a program that saves a disk to an iso file. do burning programs do this?
    registered linux user #390920 << makes me feel important

  2. #12
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Where my hat is
    Posts
    766
    Some do, some don't. Google should be able to tell you which one's do.
    Registered Linux user #384279
    Vector Linux SOHO 7

  3. #13
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Charlottesville, VA
    Posts
    175
    You can just use the program "dd".
    Code:
    dd if=/dev/cdrom of=filename.iso
    This fails on some copy-protected CDs, though. I'm not endorsing it in the least, but if you want to copy one of those, look up dd_rescue on google.
    ---sxeraverx---
    Linux without a C Compiler is like eating Spaghetti with your mouth sewn shut. It just doesn't make sense.

  4. #14
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    SA, TX
    Posts
    333
    i did a google search and found a command line script thatll rip an iso from a data cd. thx for help
    registered linux user #390920 << makes me feel important

  5. #15
    Linux Guru bigtomrodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    6,132
    Just one last one there for you - if you use K3B (I know you said you use Gnome but ya gotta love K3B) just go to copy disc and then check the box "Only Create Image"

    That's how I do it. But install kiso tools, it's great for mounting / unmounting at a mouse click. Not sure if there's a Gnome equivalent, I've been spending far too much time on the KDE side.

  6. #16
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    SA, TX
    Posts
    333
    yea when i was looking at which distro to install, i wanted to install one with KDE cept ubuntu was the only one that i could get to work on my comp. is there a way to install KDE and replace gnome?
    registered linux user #390920 << makes me feel important

  7. #17
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,429
    Install Kubuntu, Ubuntu with KDE instead of Gnome.
    ** Registered Linux User # 393717 and proud of it ** Check out www.zenwalk.org
    ** Zenwalk 2.8 - Xfce 4.4 beta 2- 2.6.17.6 kernel = Slack on steroids! **

  8. #18
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    SA, TX
    Posts
    333
    maybe ill do that in the future...too much work for me now... :P
    registered linux user #390920 << makes me feel important

  9. #19
    Linux Guru bigtomrodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    6,132
    Can you apt-get KDE?

  10. #20
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    Quote Originally Posted by bigtomrodney
    Can you apt-get KDE?
    yes you can apt-get kde if you add new scources to the apt/scources.lst file as it states here.

    dylunio
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •