Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
I have just installed Mandrake10 on my laptop, but can't get the Siemens ADSL10 USB Modem installed. Yeah, I'know USB modems are rubish, but what can I do? I just ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    4

    Installing USB ADSL Modem on Mandrake10.0???


    I have just installed Mandrake10 on my laptop, but can't get the Siemens ADSL10 USB Modem installed.
    Yeah, I'know USB modems are rubish, but what can I do?

    I just started with Linux, so I don't know much about this op-system.

    How do I get linux to see the modem, or how do I install drivers? I downloaded some drivers that is supose to work, but I don't know how to install it. Linux is a bit different from Windows.


  2. #2
    Linux Guru Flatline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2,204
    Could you run lsusb and post the output?
    There are two major products that come out of Berkeley: LSD and UNIX. We don't believe this to be a coincidence.

    - Jeremy S. Anderson

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    4

    NEW to linux

    I'm new to Linux... I don't have a clue what you are asking!

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru Flatline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2,204
    Open a terminal (there should be a shortcut for a terminal in the panel at the bottom of your screen named konsole; if not, it will be in the start menu). Once you've got the terminal open, you can type
    Code:
    su
    and hit enter. Give it your root (administrator) password that you set up during the installation process. Once you've done that, you can type in
    Code:
    lsusb
    and hit enter; you can then copy and paste the output from that command into a post here.
    There are two major products that come out of Berkeley: LSD and UNIX. We don't believe this to be a coincidence.

    - Jeremy S. Anderson

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    4

    lsusb..

    Sorry it took so long.
    It is the modem I'm using one PC that I'm trying to install on a laptop...

    Bus 001 Device 005: ID 0681:0019 Siemens Inf...

    Does that mean anything to you?

  7. #6
    Linux Guru Flatline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2,204
    Could you post the output of lsmod and lspci? It really is too bad if your router doesn't have the ability to use an ethernet cable...that would make everything so much easier
    There are two major products that come out of Berkeley: LSD and UNIX. We don't believe this to be a coincidence.

    - Jeremy S. Anderson

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    4

    lsmod and lspci

    lsmod
    Module Size Used by
    md5 3872 1
    ipv6 232352 10
    sg 38044 0
    st 38616 0
    sr_mod 17028 0
    sd_mod 16832 0
    scsi_mod 114648 4 sg,st,sr_mod,sd_mod
    parport_pc 32832 1
    lp 12200 0
    parport 38952 2 parport_pc,lp
    snd-seq-midi 8160 0
    snd-seq-oss 31232 0
    snd-seq-midi-event 7552 2 snd-seq-midi,snd-seq-oss
    snd-seq 51024 5 snd-seq-midi,snd-seq-oss,snd-seq-midi-event
    snd-pcm-oss 51812 0
    snd-mixer-oss 17952 1 snd-pcm-oss
    snd-via82xx 24128 0
    snd-pcm 93156 2 snd-pcm-oss,snd-via82xx
    snd-timer 24484 2 snd-seq,snd-pcm
    snd-ac97-codec 58148 1 snd-via82xx
    gameport 4480 1 snd-via82xx
    snd-page-alloc 11972 2 snd-via82xx,snd-pcm
    snd-mpu401-uart 7072 1 snd-via82xx
    snd-rawmidi 23616 2 snd-seq-midi,snd-mpu401-uart
    snd-seq-device 8008 4 snd-seq-midi,snd-seq-oss,snd-seq,snd-rawmidi
    snd 52484 13 snd-seq-midi,snd-seq-oss,snd-seq-midi-event,snd-seq,snd-pcm-oss,snd-mixer-oss,snd-via82xx,snd-pcm,snd-timer,snd-ac97-codec,snd-mpu401-uart,snd-rawmidi,snd-seq-device
    soundcore 9248 1 snd
    af_packet 20520 0
    hid 53312 0
    ide-floppy 18752 0
    ide-tape 34864 0
    ide-cd 40548 0
    cdrom 37184 2 sr_mod,ide-cd
    floppy 59444 1
    ds 15364 2
    yenta_socket 16352 0
    pcmcia_core 68768 2 ds,yenta_socket
    nls_utf8 1920 2
    nls_cp437 5568 2
    vfat 13760 2
    fat 45120 1 vfat
    supermount 37876 1
    via-agp 7360 1
    agpgart 31016 1 via-agp
    uhci-hcd 29104 0
    usbcore 99132 4 hid,uhci-hcd
    rtc 11576 0
    ext3 110408 1
    jbd 54328 1 ext3

    lspci
    00:00.0 Host bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8601 [Apollo ProMedia] (rev 05)
    00:01.0 PCI bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8601 [Apollo ProMedia AGP]
    00:07.0 ISA bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82C686 [Apollo Super South] (rev 1b)
    00:07.1 IDE interface: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82C586A/B/VT82C686/A/B/VT8233/A/C/VT8235 PIPC Bus Master IDE (rev 06)
    00:07.2 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. USB (rev 0e)
    00:07.4 ISA bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82C686 [Apollo Super ACPI] (rev 20)
    00:07.5 Multimedia audio controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82C686 AC97 Audio Controller (rev 21)
    00:09.0 Communication controller: Conexant HSF 56k Data/Fax Modem (rev 01)
    00:0a.0 CardBus bridge: Texas Instruments PCI1410 PC card Cardbus Controller (rev 01)
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Trident Microsystems CyberBlade i1 (rev 6a)

    Does that make any sence?

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    2

    USB Modem

    I use an ordinary dial-up connection 56K USB Modem using ttyACM0
    It works fine for me and I think it mighg work for ADSL also


    I can provide info on setup if you think it's worth trying.

    JB

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    2

    USB Modem

    I use an ordinary dial-up connection 56K USB Modem using ttyACM0

    It works fine for me and I think it might work for ADSL also.


    I can provide info on setup if you think it's worth trying.

    JB

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •